Cal Women's CrewTravels to San Diego Crew Classic

April 2, 2002

CAL TRAVELS TO CREW CLASSIC: The Cal women's crew will make its annual pilgrimage to Mission Bay in San Diego to compete in the San Diego Crew Classic, April 6-7. Racing is scheduled from 7:00 a.m. to 4:50 p.m. on Saturday and from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. on Sunday.

CAL WOMEN'S CREW 2002: After its third-consecutive team invitation to the NCAA Championships Regatta, Cal women's crew is established as one of the premier programs in the country, and looks to challenge for the 2002 national title. Fourth-year head coach Dave O'Neill returns nearly his entire team from 2001, which placed sixth at NCAAs last May.The youth which marked last season has developed into experience, as 18 of the 20 rowers who competed at the 2001 NCAA Championships return. These athletes are more skilled and seasoned, and O'Neill is proud and impressed with the development of the squad.

COMPETITION: The Bears will be up against the traditionally strong field at San Diego. Below are the preliminary lane assignments for the heats on April 6. The top finishers in each heat advance to the grand finals on April 7.

Women's Varsity: (3 to final)
Heat 1 (08:20): UW, Virginia, Stanford, Texas, Wash. St., Miami, Navy
Heat 2 (08:30): Ohio St., USC, Cal, Clemson, Oregon St., Notre Dame, Tulsa

Women's JV: (2 to final)
Heat 1 (10:10): Sac. St., Virginia, Kan. St., N. Carolina, UCI, Ohio St., USD
Heat 2 (10:20): Minnesota, SDSU, UW, USC, SMU, Clemson, Oregon St.
Heat 3 (10:30): Duke, Texas, UCSD, Notre Dame, UCLA, Stanford

Women's Novice: (2 to final)
Heat 1 (11:00): Wash. State, Texas, UCSD, Cal, Stanford, UC Davis, UCSC
Heat 2 (11:15): Duke, Virginia, Pacific, USD, UCLA, Orange Coast, USC
Heat 3 (11:30): SMU, UW, Kansas State, SDSU, Loyola, Sac State, Oregon St.

CAL IN THE POLLS: Cal expects to be ranked in the Top 10 when the first CRCA/USROWING Coaches Poll is released on April 3.


Varsity Eightcox:	Shaina Kennedystr.:	Molly Denning7	Megan Cooke6	Khobi Brooklyn5	Laura Terheyden4	Shelle Orem3	Ariana Canova2	Martha Helgelandbow	Erin Sanford

JV Eightcox: Kate Goodmanstr.: Elyse Lerum7 Hilarie Martin6 Katie Waller5 Teresa Oja4 Ona Johnson3 Brenda Mueller2 Patsy McGuirebow Andrea McDermott

Novice Eightcox: Meagan Linnstr.: Liz Youngs7 Erin Cafaro6 Karin Clifton5 Emily Burkett4 Christina Georghiou3 Whitney Kimmel2 Danielle Mainasbow Anna Heimbichner

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder