Kevin Stadler Named Semifinalist For Ben Hogan Award

April 3, 2002

Norman, Okla. - USC senior Kevin Stadler has been named one of twenty semifinalists for the Ben Hogan Award by the Friends of Golf and Colonial Country Club, in association with theGolf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Ben Hogan Award will be presented to the outstanding male college golferover the course of the last 12 months at a black-tie dinner Monday, May 13at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas. The Hogan Award takes intoconsideration a player's collegiate and amateur record from May 1, 2001 toMay 1, 2002.

A list of 10 finalists will be announced on April 16, while the recipient ofthe award will be announced on Friday, May 3.

The inaugural Ben Hogan Award was presented in 1990 by the Friends of Golf(FOG), to a player exhibiting excellence in academics as well as collegegolf as selected by the GCAA.

Stadler leads the Trojans with a 71.3 stroke average and four top five finishes on the season. He is the son of PGA legend and former USC All-American Craig Stadler.

Ben Hogan Award Semifinalists (listed in alphabetical order)

Clint Colbert Sr. Savannah College of Art & DesignBrendon de Jonge Jr. Virginia TechBill Haas Soph. Wake ForestKevin Haefner Sr. AuburnJason Hartwick Soph. TexasRyan Hybl Soph. GeorgiaBrock Mackenzie Soph. WashingtonHunter Mahan Soph. Oklahoma StateTroy Matteson Jr. Georgia TechGraeme McDowell Jr. Alabama-BirminghamKris Mikkelsen Sr. Georgia TechChris Nallen Soph. ArizonaRob Oppenheim Sr. Rollins CollegeChez Reavie Soph. Arizona StateSteve Sokol Sr. Florida SouthernKevin Stadler Sr. Southern CaliforniaD.J. Trahan Jr. ClemsonCamilo Villegas So. FloridaNick Watney Jr. Fresno StateLee Williamson Sr. Purdue

Ben Hogan Award Recipients (under previous criteria)1990 Kevin Wentworth Oklahoma State1991 Brian Bridges Kent State1992 Jon Lindquist Gustavus Adolphus College1993 Marten Olander Alabama1994 William Blackman Auburn1995 Trip Kuehne Oklahoma State1996 Mark Wilson North Carolina1997 Jeff Fahrenbruch Texas1998 Jamie Broce Ball State1999 Steve Friesen Nebraska2000 Chris James Oklahoma2001 Wil Collins New Mexico

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder