Wrestling Hands Out Team Honors At Annual Awards Banquet

April 4, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State wrestling coach Thom Ortiz honored his Sun Devil wrestlers for athletic and academic achievement at the annual team awards banquet held Wednesday evening at the Karsten Golf Course Clubhouse. Awards were presented to the top sophomore, junior and senior wrestlers, as well as to the Most Outstanding, Most Inspirational and Most Improved wrestlers.

The NCAA runner-up at 141 pounds, junior Eric Larkin was named ASU's 'Most Outstanding Wrestler.' Larkin, a native of Tucson, Ariz., became the first Sun Devil to make it to the NCAA wrestling finals since 1996 and the 14th ASU wrestler to earn NCAA runner-up honors. Larkin, now a three-time All-American, also won his third Pac-10 title this season and ended with an overall record of 31-5.

Named the team's 'Most Inspirational Wrestler' was true freshman Chris Petrie, who sacrificed his redshirt season to fill a hole in the lineup at 174 pounds. Petrie, from Glendale's Mountain Ridge High School, wrestled his first collegiate match in ASU's dual with Embry-Riddle Jan. 12, earning a 10-5 decision but ended the season with an overall record of 2-10.

Senior Erik Gladish, a native of Kentfield, Calif., was named ASU's 'Most Improved Wrestler.' After compiling a record of 16-20 during the 1999-2000 season, Gladish competed as one of the Sun Devils' top wrestlers in 2001-02, notching an overall record of 25-13 and earning runner-up honors at the Pac-10 Championships (197 pounds).

ASU's 2001-02 All-Americans David Douglas and Larkin were also presented with plaques. In addition to Larkin's runner-up finish at nationals, Douglas was ASU's other place-winner, finishing fifth at 133 pounds. Douglas culminated his senior season with a team-high 34 wins with only six losses and wrapped up his ASU career as a two-time All-American.

For awards by class, Nick Frost was named the team's top sophomore, Kellan Fluckiger and Rocky Smart were honored as the top juniors, and Douglas was named the top senior wrestler.

ASU wrestlers were also honored for their achievements in the classroom as 13 were recognized as Maroon and Gold Scholar athletes for the 2001-02 season: junior Adam Chavira, senior Quinn Foster, Frost, Gladish, freshman Scott Hollingsworth, sophomore Chris Knox, Larkin, senior Curtis Owen, junior Justin Peterson, Petrie, freshman Will Randolph, Smart and sophomore Andy Swanson.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder