Four Bruins Among Finalists for ASA Collegiate Player of the Year

April 5, 2002

Oklahoma City, OK - Four UCLA softball players were among the 25 players named as finalists for the inaugural USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award. The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced the list of finalists on Friday. This award is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Amanda Freed, Keira Goerl, Stacey Nuveman and Natasha Watley are the four Bruins listed among the 25 finalists. The list will be reduced to ten players May 3rd, and three finalists will be announced May 31st. The winner of the 2002 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced June 7th.

The winner will be recognized and presented with the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year trophy during the ASA National Council Meeting in Reno, Nevada, in November. A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of amateur softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

The complete list of finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:
Alana Addison, Louisiana Lafayette
Sarah Beeson, Stanford University
Kara Brun, Arizona State
Jaime Clark, University of Washington
Christina Enea, University of Oklahoma
Jocelyn Forest, University of California-Berkeley
Amanda Freed, UCLA
Jennie Finch, University of Arizona
Keira Goerl, UCLA
Peaches James, University of Nebraska
Lovie Jung, University of Arizona
Oli Keohohou, BYU
Kelsey Kollen, University of Michigan
Leneah Manuma, University of Arizona
Jessica Mendoza, Stanford University
Nicole Myers, Florida Atlantic
Stacey Nuveman, UCLA
Gina Oaks, Cal State Fullerton
Catherine Osterman, University of Texas
Trena Peel, LSU
Britni Sneed, LSU
Jamie Southern, Fresno State
Jenny Topping, Cal State Fullerton
Natasha Watley, UCLA
Phelan Wright, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network