Arizona Track and Field Falls to Stanford, UCLA at California vs. Arizona Challenge

April 6, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona's men's and women's track and field teams competed at the first-ever California vs. Arizona Challenge on Saturday. The Wildcats teamed up with the Lumberjacks of Northern Arizona to face UCLA and Stanford. Team Arizona (UA and NAU) could not find a way to top the powerhouses of Team California (UCLA and Stanford). On the women's side, Team California won the title with 130.5 points to Team Arizona's 71.5. In men's action, Team California scored 106 points, while the Arizona schools came up with 97 points.

The day still turned out successful for the Wildcat women who had several very impressive performances. Brianna Glenn won the 100m dash with a time of 11.41. Seynabou Ndiaye was not too far behind Glenn in third place with a time of 11.67 to improve her Pac-10 qualifying time. Glenn was second in the 200m losing to Monique Henderson of UCLA by 1/100th of a second. She came in at 24.46. Ndiaye was fourth in the 200m clocking a time of 26.13. Alexandra Komnos won the 100m hurdles in a NCAA provisional qualifying time of 13.52. Chelsea Powell was sixth in the 100m hurdles with a time of 14.48. Powell won the 400m intermediate hurdles in 1:02.21. Team Arizona won the 4x100m relay which included Ndiaye and three Northern Arizona sprinters.

In the distance races, Cara Cline placed fourth in the 800m in 2:17.67. Teammate Danielle Price was right behind in fifth with a time of 2:18.91. Beth Hoge qualified for the Pac-10 Champion-ships in the 1,500m after placing third with a time of 4:34.90. Kim Bates won the 3,000m in a time of 10:36.74.

In women's field events, Amy Linnen placed fifth in the high jump with a leap of 5-3 (1.60m). Linnen finished second in the pole vault to the reigning NCAA outdoor champion, Tracy O'Hara of UCLA. Linnen vaulted 13-7 � (4.15m) to O'Hara's 14-1 � (4.30m). Glenn won the long jump title with a leap of 20-8 (6.30m), which is a NCAA provisional qualifying mark. Angela Foster was seventh in the discus with a toss of 156-6 (47.70m). Foster was second in the hammer throw with a toss of 187-9 (57.23m). Julie DeMarni won the javelin throw competition with a throw of 140-5 (42.80m).

In men's sprinting action, Steve Pelligreen was fourth in the 100m dash with a time of 10.91. Mike Kenyon won the 200m finishing in 21.85. Kenyon also won the 400m in 47.36. Matt Lea was fifth in the 400m clocking a time of 50.30. In the 110m hurdles, Jeff Hunter placed third in 13.97. Hunter finished second in the 400m hurdles with a time of 53.44.

In the longer distances, Aaron Powell placed fifth in the 800m with a time of 1:59.78. Kevin Engelhardt finished fifth in the 1,500, finishing in 4:01.02. In the 3,000m, Mike Howard finished fourth in 8:55.31. Matt McInvale was sixth (9:04.93), followed by teammate Eric Bohn in seventh (9:11.46). Steve Smith and Mark Anderson swept the top two places in the 3,000m steeplechase. Smith finished in 9:22.40 to Anderson's 9:26.56.

In the field events, Chris Chappell won the pole vault competition with a leap of 16-8 � (5.10m). Kevin Opalka was third after vaulting 16-2 � (4.95m). J.R. Harrison won both the long jump and triple jump events. He leapt 23-1 � (7.04m) in the long jump and 50-5 � (15.38m) in the triple jump. Sean Shields was second in the shot put with a toss of 60-3 (18.36m). Richard Legarra was fourth with a throw of 56-10 � (17.34m). In the discus, Legarra finished fifth with a toss of 174-7 (53.22m). Shields was sixth with a mark of 174-4 (53.14m). In the hammer throw, Legarra had a throw of 188-8 (57.50m) to finish second. Matt Wagner won the javelin throw with a toss of 219-5 (66.88m). Jared Morell was third with a throw of 191-11 (58.49m), and Mike Thomas was fifth with a toss of 132-2 (40.28m).

The Wildcats will be on the road for the next three weeks. Next weekend, they will travel to Tempe, Ariz. for the Sun Angel Classic hosted by Arizona State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network