UW's Jaime Clark Named A Finalist For The USA Softball Collegiate Player Of The Year Award

April 8, 2002

SEATTLE - Washington junior All-American Jaime Clark (Tustin, Calif.) has been named as one of 25 finalists for the inaugural USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) announced Friday.

The Huskies' starting shortstop is among 13 Pac-10 players up for the award, which is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

The list of 25 will be reduced to 10 players May 3, and three finalists will be announced May 31. The winner, who will be presented with a trophy during the ASA National Council Meeting in Reno, Nev., in November, will be announced June 7.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, Okla., along with photos of the winner. An additional replica will be presented to the player's academic institution.

Clark, who recently was invited to the USA Softball team camp this May, is a two-time All-American at Washington. In 2002, the junior leads the team with a .428 batting average, including 14 home runs, 57 RBI and an .819 slugging percentage.

The finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award are in alphabetical order:

Alana Addison, Louisiana Lafayette
Sarah Beeson, Stanford University
Kara Brun, Arizona State
Jaime Clark, University of Washington
Christina Enea, University of Oklahoma
Jocelyn Forest, University of California-Berkeley
Amanda Freed, UCLA
Jennie Finch, University of Arizona
Keira Goerl, UCLA
Peaches James, University of Nebraska
Lovie Jung, University of Arizona
Oli Keohohou, BYU
Kelsey Kollen, University of Michigan
Leneah Manuma, University of Arizona
Jessica Mendoza, Stanford University
Nicole Myers, Florida Atlantic
Stacey Nuveman, UCLA
Gina Oaks, Cal State Fullerton
Catherine Osterman, University of Texas
Trena Peel, LSU
Britni Sneed, LSU
Jamie Southern, Fresno State
Jenny Topping, Cal State Fullerton
Natasha Watley, UCLA
Phelan Wright, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network