McCrummen Wins Pac-10 Newcomer Of The Year For Men's Diving

April 8, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State freshman Thomas McCrummen was named the Pac-10 Conference men's Newcomer of the Year for the sport of diving, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

McCrummen, a 2001 graduate of Laguna Hills High in Laguna Niguel, Calif., wrapped his collegiate rookie season with strong performances at the Pac-10 Championships and NCAA Zone E Championships.

At the Pac-10 meet, McCrummen placed third in the 1-meter springboard (331.95), fourth in the 3-meter springboard (508.25) and seventh in the platform dive (416.85). At the Zone Championships he narrowly missed qualifying for the national championship meet, placing fourth in the 1-meter (311.35) and sixth in the 3-meter (505.95). He also placed 15th in the platform (368.60).

Often overshadowed by sophomore teammate Gordon Blukis, McCrummen earned only two first-place finishes during the regular dual meet season, taking the 1-meter springboard vs. Hawaii and Washington. He did however accumulate 10 runner-up finishes.

McCrummen is the third recipient of the Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year award for diving. Previous winners Ruben Vaca (2000) and Omar Ojeda (2001) of Arizona won Diver of the Year honors in the same season. Ojeda repeated as Diver of the Year for 2002.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder