Eric Manning and Dennis Weathersby Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy List

April 11, 2002

Corvallis, Ore. - Senior defensive tackle Eric Manning and senior cornerback Dennis Weathersby have been named to the 2002 watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded annually to the nation's top collegiate defensive player. The award is presented by the Charlotte (NC) Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.

Manning and Weathersby are joined on the list by fellow Pac-10 Conference student-athletes linebacker Lance Briggs of Arizona, defensive end Terrell Suggs of Arizona State, and defensive back Troy Polamalu of Southern California.

Manning was a first-team All-Pacific-10 Conference defensive tackle last season, and enters this season with 23 consecutive starts. Weathersby was selected second team All-Pac-10 last year, and was named second team All-American by The Sporting News.

The 800-member Football Writers Association of America selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list candidates, identifies the players of the week and names the trophy winner. The Charlotte Touchdown Club, a non-profit organization that raises funds for scholarships, has presented the trophy each year since 1995.

The distinguished recipients who have been awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy in past years include the following: Rob Waldrop (1993/Arizona), Warren Sapp (1994/Miami), Pat Fitzgerald (1995 and '96/Northwestern), Charles Woodson (1997/Michigan), Champ Bailey (1998/Georgia), Corey Moore (1999/Virginia Tech), and Dan Morgan (2000/Miami). The 2001 recipient was Roy Williams, a junior defensive back from the University of Oklahoma.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder