Rowers Host Wisconsin, Washington St. in Dual Regatta

April 11, 2002

Seattle - The Washington women's varsity eight seeks to cap a perfect decade of racing against the University of Wisconsin when it hosts the Badgers in the annual dual regatta Saturday on the Montlake Cut. Washington State also travels to Seattle for its annual dual with the Huskies on the same day.

The premier race of the weekend features the women's varsity eights from Washington, Wisconsin and Washington State at 10:35 a.m. Competition between the Huskies and Cougars also includes novice and junior varsity eights, varsity fours and men's freshman and varsity eights. Racing begins at 9 a.m. on the Cut.

The dual regatta between UW and Wisconsin normally features both the men's and women's varsity eights racing on the same day but scheduling conflicts have the Badger men traveling to Seattle to challenge the Huskies April 20.

The Schedule

Time	Race	Lane 1	Lane 2	Lane 3	Lane 4	Lane 5
9:00 a.m. Women's first novice 8 WSU UW
9:08 a.m. Men's freshman 8 UW WSU
9:15 a.m. Women's junior varsity 8 UW WSU UW
shells return through cut
10:15 a.m. Women's varsity 4 UW WSU UW
10:20 a.m. Women's second novice 8UW WSU UW
10:28 a.m. Men's varsity 8 WSU UW WSU UW UW
10:35 a.m. Women's varsity 8 WSU UW Wisconsin

The 'W' Trophy: The Washington-Wisconsin dual regatta, a home-and-home challenge between the traditional rowing powers, began in 1993 and is a battle for the 'W' trophy. The Huskies have won all nine of the varsity races during that span. The Washington women posted an open water victory over the Badgers last season on Lake Mendota in Madison, Wisc.

In the Rankings: Washington remained at No. 1 in the April 10 USRowing Top 20 poll. Washington State checks in at No. 15 while Wisconsin is No. 25. The Washington men's varsity eight is currently ranked No. 3.

Husky Notes: No other rowing program in the country had as outstanding a year as the Washington men's and women's crews combined. The women won the NCAA team title, its third in the last five years, after capturing gold medals in the varsity eight and varsity four and a silver medal in the junior varsity eight. For the third year in a row, the NCAA varsity four that won the gold medal was comprised of all novice rowers.
On the men's side, Washington also captured two gold medals, in the freshman eight and the pair, at the IRA National Championships. The junior varsity won a silver medal and the varsity won bronze.
Following the season, five current Huskies were named to the U.S. National Team and competed at the World Championships in Lucerne, Switzerland. They are John Lorton, Lucas Ahlstrand, Heidi Hurn, Anna Mickelson and coxswain Mary Whipple.

Weekend Recap
At the San Diego Crew Classic - The women's varsity eight-oared crew regained its hold on the Jessop Whittier Cup and the Husky men's varsity eight narrowed the gap but still trailed rival California in the Copley Cup - the two premier races of the season-opening regatta - at the 29th annual San Diego Crew Classic, April 7.
In all, Washington won gold medals in four of the six premier races at the season-opening regatta. The Husky men's junior varsity crew staged one of the most dramatic races of the day en route to its third straight and 16th overall win in the race that began in 1973. The junior varsity women successfully defended their title with a boat-length win over a strong Virginia crew. The freshman men tallied the largest margin of victory as they crossed the line a length and one-half ahead of rival California. In the novice women's race, cross-state rival Washington State narrowly edged the Huskies for the gold medal, snapping a four-year win streak in the event for UW.

Team Captains: Washington announced its 2002 team captains during Class Day festivities last weekend. Senior Jenni Vesnaver (Adelaide, Australia), a fourth-year rower who is currently in the varsity eight five seat, will be the women's captain. Senior Matt Deakin (San Francisco, Calif.), a fourth-year rower in the varsity eight five was named captain for the men's team.

A Look at the Leaders: Bob Ernst enters his 27th season of coaching at Washington and his 15th year as head coach of the men's team ... Ernst is the only coach in the country to lead both men's and women's crews to national titles ... he is joined by freshman coach Fred Honebein, who directed his crew to a gold medal at the IRA Championships last year ... former Husky rower Bob Cummins, who stroked the varsity eight to a national championship in 1997, joins the men's staff as the varsity intern this season while Dan Garbutt (Princeton) and former UW coxswain Tim Lewis also serve as interns.
On the women's side, Jan Harville enters her 15th year as head coach... She was named the 2001 Seattle Post-Intelligencer Sports Star of the Year after leading the Huskies to their third NCAA title in the last five years ...Harville is assisted by novice coach Eleanor McElvaine, who has led an all-freshman crew to a gold medal in the NCAA Championships the last three seasons. Former Husky coxswain Erin O'Connell joins the women's staff for her fifth season as assistant varsity coach while former UW rower Romany McNamara is in her first season as the novice women's intern.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network