2001-02 Pac-10 Wrestling Awards

April 17, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE's Eric Larkin and former BOISE STATE head coach Mike Young have been named Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively, while STANFORD's Matt Gentry was honored as Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Larkin, a 141-pound sophomore from Tucson, Ariz., was selected by the coaches as Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year. Larkin compiled a 31-5 season record and won the Conference title (third of his career) before qualifying for the NCAA Championships, where he became the first Sun Devil to make it to the NCAA wrestling finals since 1996 (the 14th ASU wrestler to earn NCAA runner-up honors). Additionally, he earned All-America honors for the third consecutive season. It is the second Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year award for Larkin, Arizona State's third straight and 12th overall.

Young, who retired at the end of the season as the wrestling coach, won his third Pac-10 Coach of the Year award after guiding his team to its second Pac-10 title in three years. Boise State finished with an overall record of 8-4 (.667) in dual matches, giving Young a 187-159-6 (.540) career mark as the Broncos head man. Boise State went on to tie for 19th place at this year's NCAA Championships, with junior Ben Vombaur placing fourth in the 125-pound class. Vombaur became the 12th wrestler in Young's 31 years at BSU to win All-America honors. Young's award is the third Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor at Boise State all-time.

Gentry, a 149-pound redshirt freshman from Grants Pass, Ore., was picked as Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year. Gentry was the catalyst in the Cardinal attack as he posted a 35-11 season record, becoming the first freshman in school history to tally 30 wins in a year. Overall, he led the team in wins (35, a single-season school record), pins (4) and team points (125.00). Gentry posted a 6-1 Pac-10 record before finishing second at the Pac-10 Championships and competing at NCAA's. Gentry's award is Stanford's first Newcomer of the Year honor.

The Wrestler, Coach and Newcomer of the Year awards are determined by a coaches vote.


1976 Tom Brown, WASH, 158 Greg Gibson, ORE, HWT1977 Larry Bielenberg, OSU, HWT1978 Dan Hicks, OSU, 1421979 Fred Bohna, UCLA, HWT1980 Howard Harris, OSU, HWT1981 Marty Ryan, OSU, 1501982 Bill Nugent, ORE, 1421983 Gary Bohay, ASU, 1261984 Jim Baumgardner, OSU, 1901985 Eddie Urbano, ASU, 1501986 Adam Cohen, ASU, 1501987 Mike Davies, ASU, 1901988 Mike Davies, ASU, 1901989 Dan St. John, ASU, 1581990 Dan St. John, ASU, 1671991 Paul Keysaw, CSUB, 1901992 Ray Miller, ASU, 1581993 Ray Miller, ASU, 1581994 Babak Mohammadi, OSU, 1341995 Les Gutches, OSU, 1771996 Les Gutches, OSU, 1771997 Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT1998 Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT1999 Stephen Neal, CSUB, HWT2000 Steve Blackford, ASU, 1652001 Eric Larkin, ASU, 1412002 Eric Larkin, ASU, 141


1976 Dale Thomas, OSU1977 Dale Thomas, OSU1978 Darren Sipe, WASH1979 Bobby Douglas, ASU1980 Ron Finley, ORE1981 Bobby Douglas, ASU1982 Ron Finley, ORE1983 Dale Thomas, OSU1984 Dale Thomas, OSU1985 Bobby Douglas, ASU1986 Bobby Douglas, ASU1987 Bobby Douglas, ASU1988 Bobby Douglas, ASU1989 Bobby Douglas, ASU1990 Bobby Douglas, ASU1991 T.J. Kerr, CSUB1992 Mark Johnson, OSU1993 Lee Roy Smith, ASU1994 Joe Wells, OSU1995 Joe Wells, OSU1996 T.J. Kerr, CSUB1997 T.J. Kerr, CSUB Lee Roy Smith, ASU1998 Lee Roy Smith, ASU1999 Mike Young, Boise State2000 Mike Young, Boise State2001 Lee Roy Smith, ASU2002 Mike Young, BSU


2000 TJ Hill, CS Fullerton, 1252001 Jed Pennell, OSU, 1652002 Matt Gentry, STAN, 149

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder