2002 Pacific-10 Men's and Women's Tennis Championships

April 23, 2002

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL CHAMPIONSHIPS ... The Pac-10's nine women's teams and eight men's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thursday, April 25 through Sunday, April 28, to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw shall consist of four student-athletes from each school, and the 16-team doubles draw shall consist of two doubles teams from each school. For the women, the 32-player singles draw shall consist of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participants record. The 16-team doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants record

WHAT & WHERE ... Pac-10 competition will be held in conjunction with the 102nd Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Inn Tennis Center Thursday, and at Libbey Park on Friday. All semifinal and final matches on Saturday and Sunday are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. Semifinals and finals will be held at a time yet to be determined.

OJAI HISTORY ... The Ojai, as it is known in tennis circles, is the oldest amateur tennis tournament in the United States and has been interrupted only five years since its inception - in 1924 by hoof and mouth disease and four years during World War II. Pac-10 schools have competed in intercollegiate events in 91 of The Ojai's 101 tournaments beginning in 1911. Championship medals are awarded in both singles and doubles and the winner's names are inscribed on permanent trophies displayed each year at the tournament. Last year's singles winners were USC's Ryan Moore and Arizona State's Adria Engel. Doubles winners were Stanford's K.J. Hippensteel and Alex Kim and UCLA's Mariko Fritz-Krockow and Sara Walker.

MEDIA CONTACT ... Gerry Roe will serve as the Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament coordinator. All media requests can be forwarded to her at (805) 646-3611. During tennis competition, Roe can be reached at the Ojai Tournament desk, (805) 646-7241. Results will be posted at www.ojaitourney.org, as well as on the Pac-10 website: www.pac-10.org.

PAC-10 RECAP ... UCLA captured both the men's Pac-10 title in 2002, winning the Conference championship for the first time since earning a share of it in 1999. Stanford captured the title on the women's side, winning their 15th straight Conference title. The Bruins went 6-1 in Pac-10 matches on the men's side, while the Cardinal women's squad was a perfect 8-0 in Pac-10 play.

TEAM RANKINGS ... (April 17)

Men's Omni Hotels Rankings	Women's Omni Hotels Rankings	2.	UCLA		2.	Stanford	4.	Stanford	5.	UCLA	13.	USC		9.	Arizona State	19.	California	10. 	USC	33.	Arizona State	12.	California	34.	Washington	19.	Washington	62.	Arizona		25.	Arizona				30.	Washington State				44.	Oregon

PAC-10 TEAMS IN NATIONAL RANKINGS: Pac-10 men hold down 17 spots in the top-115 men's singles list in the April 17 edition of the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings. Seven of the eight Conference teams are represented by individuals, with Stanford senior K.J. Hippensteel ranked No. 3 in the nation. Stanford and UCLA lead the way with four individuals in the top-115, while USC has three players ranked.

STANFORD: No. 3 K.J. Hippensteel (Sr.), No. 37 David Martin (Jr.), No. 59 Scott Lipsky (Jr.), No. 76 Ryan Haviland (Jr.)UCLA: No. 6 Tobias Clemens (So.), No. 23 Marcin Matkowski (So.), No. 58 Rodrigo Grilli (Jr.), No. 115 Jean-Julien Rojer (So.)USC: No. 29 Andrew Park (Sr.), No. 47 Nick Rainey (Sr.), No. 66 Prakash Amritraj (Fr.)CALIFORNIA: No. 19 John Paul Fruttero (Jr.), No. 113 Balazs Veress (So.)WASHINGTON: No. 28 Alex Vlaski (Fr.), No. 57 Matt Hanlin (Jr.)ARIZONA: No. 36 Steven Capriati (Sr.)ARIZONA STATE: No. 30 Matt Klinger (Jr.)

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy seven spots among the top-55, with Stanford and UCLA each with two ranked doubles teams. Five of the eight Pac-10 schools have a ranked doubles squad. The Bruins duo of Jean-Julien Rojer and Marcin Matkowski is the highest ranked doubles team in the nation.

STANFORD: No. 2 Scott Lipsky/David Martin, No. 19 Ryan Haviland/K.J. HippensteelUCLA: No. 1 Jean-Julien Rojer/Marcin Matkowski, No. 53 Tobias Clemens/Lassi KetolaARIZONA STATE: No. 15 Mitchell Bowen/Matt KlingerCALIFORNIA: No. 26 John Paul Fruttero/Robert KowalczykUSC: No. 7 Ryan Moore/Nick Rainey

Pac-10 women hold down 24 spots on the top-100 singles list in the April 17 edition of the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings. Eight of the nine Conference teams are represented by individuals, with UCLA freshman Megan Bradley with the highest ranking at No. 3. California and Stanford lead the way with four individuals in the top-100, while Arizona, Arizona State, UCLA and USC place three players in the rankings.

CALIFORNIA: No. 39 Raquel Kops-Jones (So.), No. 42 Catherine Lynch (So.), No. 58 Christina Fusano (Jr.), No. 74 Jieun Jacobs (So.)STANFORD: No. 4 Lauren Kalvaria (Sr.), No. 12 Gabriela Lastra (Sr.), No. 14 Lauren Barnikow (So.), No. 23 Erin Burdette (Fr.)ARIZONA: No. 18 Maja Mlakar (Fr.), No. 72 Debbie Larocque (So.), No. 91 Dianne Hollands (Fr.)ARIZONA STATE: No. 15 Adria Engel (So.), No. 24 Dora Krstulovic (So.), No. 73 Mhairi Brown (So.)UCLA: No. 3 Megan Bradley (Fr.), No. 8 Sara Walker (Jr.), No. 71 Petya Marinova (Sr.)USC: No. 6 Jewel Peterson (Jr.), No. 35 Luana Magnani (Fr.), No. 99 Maureen Diaz (Jr.)WASHINGTON: No. 55 Darija Klaic (Jr.), No. 70 Claire Carter (So.)WASHINGTON STATE: No. 47 Erica Perkins (Sr.), No. 95 Stacy McKenna (So.)

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams occupy 13 spots among the top-55. All of the nine Pac-10 schools have a ranked doubles squad. The Cardinal duo of Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra is the top-ranked doubles team in the nation.

CALIFORNIA: No. 20 Raquel Kops-Jones/Jody Scheldt, No. 46T Jieun Jacobs/Christina FusanoSTANFORD: No. 1 Lauren Kalvaria/Gabriela Lastra, No. 17 Lauren Barnikow/Erin BurdetteUCLA: No. 2 Sara Walker/Petya Marinova, No. 3 Lauren Fisher/Megan BradleyUSC: No. 6 Tiffany Brymer/Jewel Peterson, No. 28 Anita Loyola/Luana MagnaniARIZONA: NO. 9 Debbie Larocque/Maja MlakarARIZONA STATE: No. 13 Adria Engel/Dora KrstulovicOREGON: No. 54 Courtney Nagle/Davina MendiburuWASHINGTON: No. 31 Claire Carter/Darja KlaicWASHINGTON STATE: No. 15 Stacy McKenna/Erica Perkins

PAC-10 INDIVIDUAL HONORS ... Individual awards will be awarded after the conclusion of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and released from the Conference office on Wednesday, May 8.

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS ... The NCAA Men's Tennis Regionals are May 11-12 on campus sites, and the NCAA Men's Tennis Championships are in College Station, Texas on May 18-27. The NCAA Women's Tennis Regionals are May 10-12 on campus sites, with the NCAA Women's Tennis Championship held in Stanford, Calif., on May 16-25.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder