No. 9 Men's Golf Travels To Corvallis For Pac-10 Championships

April 23, 2002

THIS WEEK--The No. 9 USC men's golf team--the defending conference champ--travels to Corvallis, Ore., to compete in the 43rd Pacific-10 Conference Men's Golf Championships on April 25-27 at the Trysting Tree Golf Club (Par 72, 7022 yards). Oregon State University is the Tournament host for the 72-hole Championships.

TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE--A practice round will take place on Wednesday, April 24 before the tournament begins on Thursday morning. The opening two rounds are Thursday, the third round is on Friday, and the final round is scheduled for Saturday. The starting time for Thursday is 7:30 a.m., Friday and Saturday is 8 a.m.

LAST YEAR'S TOURNAMENT--USC captured its first Pac-10 men�s golf championship since 1986 with a 20-under 1400, four strokes ahead of second-place finisher Arizona State. Hunter Mahan, the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, paced the Trojans to their 16th Conference title overall with a 13-under 271 to finish second. Arizona�s Ricky Barnes took Pac-10 medalist honors with a 16-under 268. Trojan coach Kurt Schuette earned Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors.

SO FAR THIS YEAR--USC has two tournament wins under its belt in 2002: at the Cleveland Golf Classic on March 5 and at the U.S. Intercollegiate on April 21. The Trojans have finished second three other times and have finished in the top 10 at every other tournament except for one.

Top 20 Teams1 Georgia Tech2 Clemson3 Wake Forest4 Florida5 Texas6 Oklahoma State7 Texas Christian8 Tennessee9 USC10 Washington11 Auburn12 Fresno State13 N.C State14 Georgia15 Augusta State16 Virginia Tech17 Oklahoma18 Pepperdine19 Toledo20 Baylor

* as of 4/23/02

Top 20 Individuals1 Graeme McDowell, UAB2 Camilo Villegas, Florida3 D. J. Trahan, Clemson4 Hunter Mahan, Okla. St.5 Bill Haas, Wake Forest6 Ryan Hybl, Georgia7 Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech8 Nick Watney, Fresno State9 Lee Williamson, Purdue10 Oliver Wilson, Augusta St.11 John Klauk, Texas12 Brendan De Jonge, Va Tech13 Kevin Haefner, Auburn14 Gregg Jones, Clemson15 Kevin Stadler, USC16 David Skinns, Tennessee17 Kris Mikkelsen, Georgia Tech18 J.J. Wall, Texas19 Chris Nallen, Arizona20 Dustin Bray, North Carolina

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder