Laing, Huarte Earn First Team All-Pac-10 Honors

April 24, 2002

WALLA WALLA, Wash. - Cal junior Vikki Laing and sophomore Sarah Huarte were selected first team All-Pac-10 by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches Wednesday following the completion of the Pac-10 Championship. Bear senior Anne Walker earned second team recognition.

Laing and Huarte finished eighth and ninth, respectively, at the conference tournament to pace the 17th-ranked Bears to a program-best third-place finish. This is the second-straight year the duo has finished in the top 10 at Pac-10s but neither have prior selections to the first team All-Pac-10 team. Both were honorable mention picks in 2001.

Huarte, who hails from Shingle Springs, Calif., has finished in the top 25 in nine of Cal's 10 tournaments this season and in the top 10 six times. Laing, a product of Musselburgh, Scotland, has placed in the top 10 in the last three events.

After winning the Bay Area Classic in February, Walker became the first Cal women's golfer to win more than one tournament in her career. She also took top honors at the 1998 BYU Invitational. The Lanarkshire native garnered honorable mention All-Pac-10 recognition as a freshman and sophomore.

All-Pac-10 First Team
Sarah Huarte, California
Vikki Laing, California
Becky Lucidi, USC
Lorena Ochoa, Arizona
Mikaela Parmlid, USC
Jimin Kang, Arizona State

All-Pac-10 Second Team
Yvonne Choe, UCLA
Louise Friberg, Washington
Kelli Kamimura, Washington
Laura Myerscough, Arizona
Kim Rowton, Stanford
Anne Walker, California

Newcomer of the Year:
Yvonne Choe, UCLA

Pac-10 Coach of the Year:
Carrie Leary, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder