Men's Golf Team Competing At Pac-10 Championship April 25-27

ASU COMPETES IN 2002 PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIP: The Arizona State men's golf team competes April 25-27 (Thursday-Saturday) in the 43rd annual 72-hole Pac-10 Championships held this year at Trysting Tree Golf Club (par-72, 7,022 yards). The 10 schools will play 36 holes on Thursday, April 25, followed by single rounds on Friday and Saturday, April 26-27. ASU is coming off its best tournament of the year as it shot a 26-under 838 to finish second at its Thunderbird/SAVANE Invitational on April 12-13 at ASU's Karsten Golf Course, despite not playing with No. 1 golfer Chez Reavie, who was competing at the Masters. No program has been more dominant in Pac-10 play than Arizona State, as it has won 11 Pac-10 titles, including six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979, 1981, 1989, 1990 and 1993. Results will be available via the internet. Point your browser to the Pac-10 website at or to the Oregon State website at ASU has finished in the top five at the NCAAs in five of the past seven years and has won the Pac-10 title six of the past seven years. The Sun Devils also won national championships in 1990 and 1996. ASU is led by 10th-year head coach Randy Lein, the 1996 National Coach of the Year and a seven-time winner of Pac-10 Coach of the Year (five times at ASU and twice at USC).

REAVIE IN THE MASTERS: ASU was without its top player at its own tournament on April 12-13 for a good reason. Chez Reavie won the 2001 Public Links Championship this past summer, becoming the third Sun Devil to earn the title, joining Billy Mayfair (1986) and John Jackson, Jr. (1969). Reavie earned a trip to the Masters with the title. Reavie earned honorable mention All-America honors last year after finishing tied for fourth at the NCAA Championships in Durham, N.C. He shot a 7-under 281 (71-67-74-69) in his first NCAA event. Reavie had a wrist injury this past fall and did not compete but has competed in four events this spring and has a 72.67 stroke average. He has two top five and three top 10 finishes in his four events.

NCAAs: Four schools have made at least 15 straight trips to the NCAA Championships. The schools and the consecutive years they have contended heading into the 2002 championships are: Oklahoma State (55), Clemson (20), Arizona State (18) and Arizona (15).

GOING FOR SEVEN: ASU head coach Randy Lein has led ASU to seven Pac-10 titles in his nine seasons. ASU won titles in 1993, Lein's first year, and then won six straight from 1995-2000. ASU finished second last year and third in 1994. Since joining the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five just once in its 23 championships.The Sun Devils finished sixth in 1983.

SAME BREAKFAST ON THE MENU?: Trysting Tree was the site of the NCAA West Regional last year (May 17-19). ASU won the title with a 12-under 852, outscoring second-place Arizona by 15 strokes (867). Only one player from that 5-player Sun Devil team returns to the course this year, as then-freshman Chez Reavie shot a 1-over 217 (73-72-72) and tied for 14th.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 CHAMPS: A list of Sun Devils who have won Pac-10 individual titles (year and score noted): Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist in 1979 (277), Jim Bertoncino in 1980 (280), Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes in 1981 (283), Phil Mickelson in 1990 (278), Scott Johnson in 1997 (278), and Paul Casey in 1998 (283), 1999 (265) and 2000 (265).

ASU HEAD COACH RANDY LEIN: Randy Lein has coached 56 tournament victories in his 20 seasons, tutored 43 All-Americans and added the top accolade in collegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to his collection of honors as the Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn., with a three-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his 10th season as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 33 tournament victories (including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10 titles, four NCAA West Regional wins (three of the past four) and eight top-10 finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. In addition, Lein has tutored NCAA medalist Todd Demsey and 11 All-Americans (23 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), Paul Casey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Paul Casey (3), Jeff Quinney (3), Matt Jones and Chez Reavie (1). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year five times (1993, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twice at USC (1980 and 1986). Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduate of Cal State Northridge.

ASU MEN'S GOLF--Pac-10 Lineup--(Tourn.-Rds.-Avg.)Chez Reavie4-12-72.672001 U.S. PublicLinks Champion

Jesse Mueller9-27-75.41

Pat Moore7-21-74.33

Ben Flam5-15-73.80

Brady Stockton9-26-74.35

Tyler Erickson7-21-74.24

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder