No. 17 Cal Ties for Third for Best Finish at Pac-10 Championship

April 24, 2002

WALLA WALLA, Wash. - No. 17 California tied for third with No. 9 Arizona State at the Pac-10 Championship Wednesday with a 54-hole score of 908, marking the best conference finish in the program's seven-year history. The Golden Bears previous best performance was fourth in 2000.

No. 8 Arizona won its third-straight Pac-10 title and fifth in the last six years with a combined score of 891 at the Walla Walla Country Club. The Wildcats shot a low round of 294 Wednesday. No. 20 UCLA was the runner-up at 899. No. 13 USC and No. 16 Washington tied for fifth at 909.

The Golden Bears carded a 301 in the final round with junior Vikki Laing leading the way with an even-par 72. Laing, who finished fourth at 2001 Pac-10s, led Cal for the second-straight year by finishing eighth with a score of 225.

Cal sophomore Sarah Huarte also duplicated her top 10 conference finish of a year ago. She tied for ninth at 226 after carding a 77 today. Junior Ria Quiazon also posted her highest Pac-10 finish, tying for 12th at 227.

Arizona State's Jimin Kang started the day five strokes back and tied for fourth but shot a two-under-par 70 in the final round to win the tournament by one stroke. Kang finished with a 216, holding off Arizona's Lorena Ochoa (217), the nation's top golfer and the defending Pac-10 champion. USC's Mikaela Parmlid took third at 218.

Next up for Cal is a NCAA regional, May 9-11. The Bears will likely be sent to the Western Regional at Stanford.

Women's GolfPAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPSFINALWalla Walla Country Club - par 72, 6199 yards

Team Scores (10 teams):
1. Arizona 891, 2. UCLA 899, 3t. California 908, 3t. Arizona State 908, 5t. USC 909, 5t. Washington 909, 7. Stanford 913, 8. Washington State 938, 9. Oregon State 958, 10. Oregon 966.

Top Five Individuals:
1. Jimin Kang (Arizona State) 216, 2. Lorena Ochoa (Arizona) 217, 3. Mikaela Parmlid (USC) 218, 4t. Yvonne Choe (UCLA) 219, 4t. Laura Myerscough (Arizona) 219.

Cal Scores:
8. Vikki Laing 225 (75-78-72), 9t. Sarah Huarte 226 (73-76-77), 12t. Ria Quiazon 227 (76-75-76), 22t. Anne Walker 233 (75-79-79), 34t. Claire Dury 236 (76-84-76), 34t. Anna Temple* 236 (83-77-76).

* competing as an individual

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network