Ryan Haviland Advances To Quarterfinals Of Pac-10 Singles Championship

April 25, 2002

OJAI, Calif. - Stanford University junior Ryan Haviland (Aiken, SC/Sumter HS) advanced to the quarterfinals of the Pacific-10 Conference Singles Championship with a pair of victories on Thursday at Libbey Park.

Haviland, who is ranked 52nd in the country, posted two convincing wins to improve to 25-9 on the season. The junior opened the day with an easy 6-1, 6-3 victory over unranked Oded Teig of Oregon. He then wrapped up a spot in the quarterfinals with a 6-2, 7-5 second round upset over 35th-ranked Steven Capriati of Arizona. Haviland will meet 21st-ranked Marcin Matkowski of UCLA on Friday at 8:00 a.m. in quarterfinal action at Libbey Park.

Stanford had two other competitors reach the second round, and another that fell just shot of a major first round upset.

Junior David Martin (Tulsa, OK), who is ranked 29th in the nation, topped unranked Christoph Palmanshofer of Washington 6-2, 6-4 in the first round before falling to 48th-ranked Rodrigo Grilli of UCLA 4-6, 7-6, 6-4 in the second round. Junior Scott Lipsky (Merrick, NY), who is ranked 73rd in the country, outlasted unranked Clint Letcher of Arizona State 7-6 (2), 2-6, 6-4 before dropping a 7-5, 4-6, 6-4 marathon to 37th-ranked Alex Vlaski of Washington. Stanford freshman Sam Warburg (Sacramento, CA) took the first set 6-2 from 10th-ranked Tobias Clemens of UCLA, before falling 6-4, 6-0 in the final two sets.

The Cardinal had three entrants in the Pac-10 Invitational at Libbey Park South, with two bowing out in the second round and one in the first round. Senior Chris Meyer (Berkeley, CA) won by default in the first round when Teige Sullivan of USC did not show, and then dropped a 6-2, 6-3 second round match to Dillon Ruby of Washington. Stanford sophomore Phil Sheng (Thousand Oaks, CA) received a first round bye before falling to Arizona's Arnaud Agniel 6-4, 6-2. Sophomore Joe Kao (Fullerton, CA) fell to UCLA's Alberto Francis 6-4, 6-2 in opening round competition.

The Pac-10 Individual Championships continue on Friday with the singles quarterfinals and the opening two rounds of doubles competition.

NCAA Men's Tennis

Pacific-10 Conference Singles Championship

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park)

First Round (Round of 32)

John Paul Fruttero (California) d. Carl Hagman (Arizona), 1-6, 6-2, 6-3

Nick Rainey (USC) d. Julien Rojer (UCLA), 6-2, 6-3

Alex Vlaski (Washington) d. Martin Pawlowski (Oregon), 6-1, 6-2

Scott Lipsky (Stanford) d. Clint Letcher (Arizona State), 7-6 (2), 2-6, 6-4

Marcin Matkowski (UCLA) d. Olivier Charroin (Arizona State), 6-3, 6-4

Robert Kowalczyk (California) d. Ryan Moore (USC), 7-6 (5), 6-2

Steven Capriati (Arizona) d. Ari Strasberg (Washington), 6-1, 7-5

Ryan Haviland (Stanford) d. Oded Teig (Oregon), 6-1, 6-3

Whi Kim (Arizona) d. Balazs Veress (California), 6-4, 7-6

Matt Klinger (Arizona State) d. Daniel Langre (USC), 6-3, 3-6, 7-6 (4)

Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA) d. Manuel Kost (Oregon), 3-6, 6-1, 6-2

David Martin (Stanford) d. Christoph Palmanshofer (Washington), 6-2, 6-4

Prakash Amritraj (USC) d. Swen Swinnen (Oregon), 6-3, 7-5

Matt Hanlin (Washington) d. Tom Lloyd (Arizona), 6-2, 6-4

Conor Niland (California) d. Mirza Duranovic (Arizona State), 6-3, 4-6, 6-2

Tobias Clemens (UCLA) d. Sam Warburg (Stanford), 1-6, 6-4, 6-0

Second Round (Round of 16)

Nick Rainey (USC) d. John Paul Fruttero (California), 0-6, 6-1, 6-3

Alex Vlaski (Washington) d. Scott Lipsky (Stanford), 7-5, 4-6, 6-4

Marcin Matkowski (UCLA) d. Robert Kowalczyk (California), 6-2, 6-2

Ryan Haviland (Stanford) d. Steven Capriati (Arizona), 6-2, 7-5

Whi Kim (Arizona) d. Matt Klinger (Arizona State), 3-6, 6-4, 6-4

Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA) d. David Martin (Stanford), 4-6, 7-6, 6-4

Matt Hanlin (Washington) d. Prakash Amritraj (USC), 7-5, 6-4

Tobias Clemens (UCLA) d. Conor Niland (California), 6-1, 3-0, retired (injury)

Pacific-10 Conference Singles Invitational

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park South)

First Round (Round of 32)

Erfan Djahangiri (UCLA) bye

Patrick Briaud (California) d. Jon Stott (Arizona State), 6-4, 6-4

Arnaud Agniel (Arizona) d. Nicholas Weiss (Washington), 6-2, 6-1

Phli Sheng (Stanford) bye

Ben Miles (California) d. Jason Menke (Oregon), 6-2, 7-5

Alberto Francis (UCLA) d. Joe Kao (Stanford), 6-4, 6-2

Colin O'Grady (Arizona) d. Kyle Halberg (Oregon), 6-4, 6-0

Peter Schaeler (Washington) bye

Ruben Torres (USC) bye

Johan Paalberg (Oregon) bye

Chase Exon (California) d. Bruno Arapovic (Arizona) by default (no-show)

Chris Stewart (Arizona State) d. Scott Felsenthal (Washington), 6-4, 6-4

Dillon Ruby (Washington) bye

Chris Meyer (Stanford) d. Tiege Sullivan (USC) by default (no-show)

Roeland Brateanu (Arizona) d. Chris King (Oregon), 6-1, 3-6, 6-2

Lassi Ketola (UCLA) bye

Second Round (Round of 16)

Erfan Djahangiri (UCLA) d. Patrick Briaud (California), 6-4, 1-6, 6-3

Arnaud Agniel (Arizona) d. Phil Sheng (Stanford), 6-4, 6-2

Alberto Francis (UCLA) d. Ben Miles (California), 6-3, 6-3

Colin O'Grady (Arizona) d. Peter Schaeler (Washington), 6-4, 6-4

Ruben Torres (USC) d. Johan Paalberg (Oregon), 6-2, 6-1

Chris Stewart (Arizona State) d. Chase Exon (California), 6-2, 6-4

Dillon Ruby (Washington) d. Chris Meyer (Stanford), 6-2, 6-3

Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Roeland Brateanu (Arizona), 6-3, 6-1

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder