Arizona Track and Field Rolls through Day Two of Drake Relays

April 26, 2002

DES MOINES, Iowa - The University of Arizona's men's and women's track and field team have completed day two of the 93rd Annual Drake Relays. The Wildcats had a very busy day with 29 athletes competing in 14 events. The highlight of the meet thus far for Arizona was when the men's 4x100m relay team finished first in their heat of the preliminaries to qualify for the finals on Saturday afternoon.

The women's 4x100m relay team finished second in their heat but failed to qualify for the finals. The team was made up of Seynabou Ndiaye, Brianna Glenn, Alexandra Komnos and Chelsea Powell. The women's distance medley relay team finished third overall with a time of 11:32.54. The team, made up of Cara Cline, Powell, Danielle Price and Beth Hoge, was beat out by teams from Kansas State and Washington.

In individual women's competition, Seynabou Ndiaye finished third in her heat of the 100m in a time of 12.35. This time did not qualify her for the finals. In the 800m, Danielle Price finished 12th with a time of 2:14.45. Her teammate, Cara Cline, finished 14th in 2:23.72. Phyllis Brown finished 19th in the pole vault final with a height of 10-11 � (3.35m). Angels Foster finished eighth in the women's discus competition with a throw of 153-1 (46.67m). In the javelin competition, Julie DeMarni finished sixth with a throw of 146-5 (44.64m).

In men's action, the 4x100m relay team finished first in their heat to qualify for the finals on Saturday afternoon. The team, comprised of Chris Harris, Jeff Hunter, Mike Kenyon and Matt Lea, finished with a time of 40.90. They will compete against teams from Alabama, UTEP, UT-Arlington, Texas Southern, Arizona State, Iowa and Georgia for the title in tomorrow's final.

Individually for the men, Chris Harris finished sixth in his heat of the 100m with a time of 11.08, which did not qualify him for the finals. Matt Wagner finished seventh in the javelin competition with a throw of 200-11 (61.25m). Jared Morell finished 11th with a throw of 194-3 (59.21m) in the javelin. In the shot put, Sean Shields finished second with a mark of 60-5 � (18.43m). Richard Legarra threw 174-10 (53.30m) in the discus to finish third.

The Wildcats garnered its first Drake Relays champion of this year's meet in pole vaulter Mike Mortensen. He won the event with a leap of 17-6 � (5.35m). Teammate Chris Chappell finished sixth with a height of 16-6 � (5.05m). Kevin Opalka placed ninth after a leap of 16-0 � (4.90m).

The Wildcats will finish the final day of competition at the 93rd Annual Drake Relays on Saturday, April 27.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder