Scott Lipsky And David Martin Reach Semifinals Of Pac-10 Doubles Championship

April 26, 2002

OJAI, Calif. - Stanford University juniors Scott Lipsky (Merrick, NY) and David Martin (Tulsa, OK) advanced to the semifinals of the Pacific-10 Conference Doubles Championship on Friday afternoon at Libbey Park.

Lipsky and Martin, who are ranked second in the nation and were All-Americans a year ago, opened the tournament with a 9-7 victory over unranked Jason Menke and Martin Pawlowski of Oregon. The Cardinal juniors then rolled to an 8-4 quarterfinal win over Arizona's Steven Capriati and Carl Hagman to improve to 33-7 overall this season and 17-5 against Pac-10 opposition. The win was Lipsky and Martin's third in as many tries this season over the unranked Capriati and Hagman.

The Stanford duo will face 55th-ranked Tobias Clemens and Lassi Ketola of UCLA in semifinal action on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. at Libbey Park. In the only previous meeting between the two teams this season, Lipsky and Martin recorded an 8-3 victory in the ITA All-American Quarterfinals on October 12 in Stone Mountain, Georgia.

Stanford's other entrant in the Pac-10 Doubles Championship - freshmen Phil Sheng (Thousand Oaks, CA) and Sam Warburg (Sacramento, CA) - fell 8-3 in the first round to John Paul Fruttero and Robert Kowalczyk of California.

In the Pacific-10 Conference Doubles Invitational, Stanford's team of sophomore Joe Kao (Fullerton, CA) and senior Chris Meyer (Berkeley, CA) received a first round bye before dropping an 8-1 quarterfinal decision to Arizona's Tom Lloyd and Colin O'Grady.

In the Pac-10 Singles Championship, Stanford junior Ryan Haviland's (Aiken, SC) impressive run came to and end in the quarterfinals. The 52nd-ranked Haviland, who upset the 35th-ranked Capriati in the second round on Thursday, fell to 21st-ranked Marcin Matkowski of UCLA 6-1, 7-5 on Friday.

The Pac-10 Individual Championships, which were delayed for several hours by rain on Friday morning, will continue on Saturday with the singles and doubles semifinals as well as consolation bracket competition.

NCAA Men's Tennis

Pacific-10 Conference Singles Championship

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park)


Alex Vlaski (Washington) d. Nick Rainey (USC), 6-2, 6-1

Marcin Matkowski (UCLA) d. Ryan Haviland (Stanford), 6-1, 7-5

Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA) d. Whi Kim (Arizona), 4-6, 6-3, 6-3

Matt Hanlin (Washington) d. Tobias Clemens (UCLA), 6-4, 6-3

Pacific-10 Conference Singles Invitational

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park South)


Erfan Djahangiri (UCLA) d. Arnaud Agniel (Arizona), 6-2, 5-7, 1-0 (10-7)

Alberto Francis (UCLA) d. Colin O'Grady (Arizona), 6-3, 6-2

Ruben Torres (USC) d. Chris Stewart (Arizona State), 6-1, 6-3

Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d, Dillon Ruby (Washington), 4-6, 6-4, 1-0 (10-4)

Pacific-10 Conference Doubles Championship

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park)

First Round (Round of 16)

Marcin Matkowski/Julien Rojer (UCLA) d. Roeland Brateanu/Whi Kim (Arizona), 8-4

Tiege Sullivan/Ruben Torres (USC) d. Sven Swinnen/Oded Teig (Oregon), 8-4

Mitchell Bowen/Matt Klinger (Arizona State) d. Dillon Ruby/Matt Hanlin (Washington), 9-7

John Paul Fruttero/Robert Kowalczyk (California) d. Phil Sheng/Sam Warburg (Stanford), 8-3

Tobias Clemens/Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Ben Miles/Conor Niland (California), 9-8 (2)

Ryan Moore/Nick Rainey (USC) d. Olivier Charroin/Chris Stewart (Arizona State), 8-5

Steven Capriati/Carl Hagman (Arizona) d. Ari Strasberg/Alex Vlaski (Washington), 9-7

Scott Lipsky/David Martin (Stanford) d. Jason Menke/Martin Pawlowski (Oregon), 9-7


Marcin Matkowski/Julien Rojer (UCLA) d. Teige Sullivan/Ruben Torres (USC), 8-6

John Paul Fruttero/Robert Kowalczyk (California) d. Mitchell Bowen/Matt Klinger (ArizonaState), 8-2

Tobias Clemens/Lassi Ketola (UCLA) d. Ryan Moore/Nick Rainey (USC), 8-3

Scott Lipsky/David Martin (Stanford) d. Steven Capriati/Carl Hagman (Arizona), 8-4

Pacific-10 Conference Doubles Invitational

At Ojai, California (Libbey Park South)

First Round (Round of 16)

Alberto Francis/Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA) bye

Chris King/Manuel Kost (Oregon) d. Scott Felsenthal/Nicholas Weiss (Washington), 8-1

Joe Kao/Chris Meyer (Stanford) bye

Tom Lloyd/Colin O'Grady (Arizona) bye

Patrick Briaud/Balazs Veress (California) bye

Christoph Palmanshofer/Peter Schaeler (Washington) d. Arnaud Agniel/Bruno Arapovic(Arizona) by injury default

Mirza Duranovic/Jon Stott (Arizona State) d. Kyle Halberg/Johan Paalberg (Oregon), 8-4

Prakash Amritraj/Daniel Langre (USC) bye


Alberto Francis/Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA) d. Chris King/Manuel Kost (Oregon), 8-5

Tom Lloyd/Colin O'Grady (Arizona) d. Joe Kao/Chris Meyer (Stanford), 8-1

Patrick Briaud/Balazs Veress (California) d. Christoph Palmanshofer/Peter Schaeler(Washington), 9-7

Prakash Amritraj/Daniel Langre (USC) d. Mirza Duranovic/Jon Stott (Arizona State), 8-4

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder