Arizona Track & Field Comes Home with Three Drake Relays Champions

April 27, 2002

DES MOINES, Iowa - The University of Arizona's men's and women's track and field teams closed out the final day of competition at the 93rd Annual Drake Relays with two more individual champions. In the end, the Wildcats will come home with three individual titles from the meet. Mike Mortensen won the men's pole vault on Friday, while Brianna Glenn and Mike Kenyon each won the 200m on Saturday.

In women's action, Glenn highlighted the day by defending her 200m title with a time of 23.96. She won the event with a head wind that slowed down the times in the finals. Alexandra Komnos finished second in the 100m hurdles, finishing in 14.06. In the 1,500m, Beth Hoge placed eighth with a time of 4:37.39. On the field, Angela Foster claimed 11th place in the hammer throw with a toss of 165-4 (50.40m). Amy Linnen finished sixth in the pole vault with a leap of 12-0 (3.66m). Former Wildcat, Amy Linnen, was second in the women's pole vault with a leap of 12-11 � (3.96m).

Mike Kenyon led the way for the Wildcat men in Saturday's action. He won the 200m final with a time of 21.02. Richard Legarra finished 11th in the hammer throw with a toss of 179-10 (54.81m). The Wildcat men competed in two relays on the final day of action. The distance medley relay finished ninth with a time of 10:04.13. The team was made up of Kevin Engelhardt, Matt Kea, Aaron Powell and Thomas Prindiville. The 4x100m relay team was disqualified, but did finish with a time of 41.15.

The Wildcat track and field teams will return home next weekend for the final home meet and regular season meet of the 2002 season. Arizona will play host to Arizona State and Northern Arizona in a double-dual meet. It will be the last chance to qualify for post-season competition.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network