Philip Rowe And Jim Seki Named To All-Pac-10 First Team

April 29, 2002

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Senior Philip Rowe and junior Jim Seki have been named to the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Golf First Team. Kevin Stadler of USC was named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, Ben Hayes of USC has been named Freshman of the Year and Washington State's Walt Williams has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches.

Seki used a pair of birdies over the final two holes last weekend at the Pac-10 Championships to claim individual medalist accolades. The Honolulu, Hawai'i, native carded a four round total of 284 (66-72-72-74) at the Trysting Tree Golf Club. Seki also tied for seventh at the ASU Thunderbird/Savane Invitational on April 12-13.

Rowe recorded a one-over 73 in the final round of the conference championships to tie Stadler for second place with a total of 285 (72-71-69-73). The Cornwall, UK, native won the U.S. Intercollegiate title last weekend and has tallied six top-10 finishes this season.

The Cardinal are coming off a second place finish at the Pac-10 Championships last weekend and will wait to see if they are selected for the NCAA Western Regionals on May 16-18 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by theConference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:


Brock Mackenzie, Washington -- So. -- Yakima, Wash.
Chris Nallen, Arizona -- So. -- Blairstown, N.J.
Philip Rowe, Stanford -- Sr. -- Cornwall, UK
Jim Seki, Stanford -- Jr. -- Honolulu, Hawaii
Kevin Stadler, USC -- Sr. -- Englewood, Colo.
Peter Tomasulo, California -- So. -- Long Beach, Calif.
Dustin White, Washington State -- Jr. -- Pueblo West, Colo.


Ricky Barnes, Arizona -- Jr. -- Stockton, Calif.
Aaron Byers, Oregon -- Sr. -- Albany, Ore.
John Merrick, UCLA -- So. -- Long Beach, Calif.
Chez Reavie, Arizona State -- So. -- Mesa, Ariz.
Jon Reehoorn, Washington State -- Sr. -- Burlington, Wash.
John Robertson, Washington -- Jr. -- Olympia, Wash.

Honorable Mention: Chris Carnahan, Oregon, Jr.; John Ellis, Oregon, Jr.;Ben Hayes, Fr., USC; Breene Murphy, UCLA, Fr.; Scott Oxandaboure, So.,USC; David Oh, USC, Jr.; Conner Robbins, Washington, Jr.; David Yarnes,Oregon State, Sr.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Kevin Stadler, Sr., USC


PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Walt Williams, Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder