Stanford's Varsity Women To Race British National Team And UW Huskies

May 1, 2002

Seattle, WA - Stanford heads to Seattle this weekend to participate in the Opening Day Regatta. The Varsity Women's Eight will compete in the prestigious Windermere Cup where they will race the University of Washington and the British National Team. The Junior Varsity Women's Eight will compete in the Erickson Memorial Cup and will race the University of Washington, Washington State University, and Western Washington University. The Novice Women's Eight and the Varsity Women's Four will also race these same schools in their respective events.

Head Coach Aimee Baker states, 'This is a tremendous opportunity for the Stanford Athletes. It is an honor to be invited to attend this regatta and we are excited by the challenge of racing not only the best collegiate crew in the United States but also one of the best international teams in the world!'

The crew races will launch Seattle's Opening Day festivities on Saturday, May 4. Races will run through 'the cut' every 6 minutes with all crews waiting at the finish line and then jointly return to the docks leading a parade of yachts, sail boats, power boats, and the like in the christening of the lake for the season. The spectators, splendor of the event, and the caliber of competing crews will certainly make this a memorable experience for all athletes.

Racing in the varsity eight is: Wendy Hoeveler (cox'n), Sabrina Kolker (8), Melissa Haury (7), Missy Fiesler (6), Sam Magee (5), Molly Loeb (4), Claire Phillips (3), Marlayna Tuiasosopo (2), Laurie Benson (bow).

Racing in the junior varsity eight is: Kelly Garneski (cox'n), Anjali Malhotra (8), Ashley Maloney (7), Susan BeVille (6), Megan Burritt (5), Jenny McColloch (4), Marlo Dreissigacker (3), Katy Jackman (2), Lily Liu (bow).

Racing in the varsity four is; Erica Maland (cox'n), Umi Jensen (4), Erin Krampetz (3), Louisa Marion (2), Alison Appling (bow).

Racing in the novice eight is: Kasey Alderete (cox'n), Kendall Holland (8), Anya Byers (7), Taiwo Ajayi (6), Kenny Ajayi (5), Erin Atkinson (4), Lyndsey Toeppen (3), Sarah Field (2), Sami Lubega (bow).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network