UW's Jaime Clark Among 10 Finalists For USA Softball's Collegiate Player Of The Year Award

May 3, 2002

SEATTLE - Washington junior Jaime Clark (Tustin, Calif.) is among 10 finalists for the inaugural USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) announced Friday.

The ASA originally announced a list of 25 finalists back on April 5, before reducing the list to 10 players. The award, which is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country, will be handed out on June 7, after the field is once again reduced to three finalists on May 31.

The Huskies' starting shortstop is among six Pac-10 players in the final field of 10. Clark, one of 62 invitees to the USA Softball national team camp this May, is a two-time All-American at Washington, leading the team in hitting in 2002 with a .416 average, including 15 home runs and 61 RBI.

The ten finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Jaime Clark, University of Washington
Jennie Finch, University of Arizona
Keira Goerl, UCLA
Nicole Myers, Florida Atlantic
Stacey Nuveman, UCLA
Catherine Osterman, University of Texas
Britni Sneed, LSU
Jamie Southern, Fresno State
Natasha Watley, UCLA
Phelan Wright, Arizona State

The Amateur Softball Association, founded in 1933, is the National Governing Body of softball in the United States and a member of the United States Olympic Committee. As the National Governing Body, the ASA is responsible for identifying, selecting and training male and female athletes to compete in World, Pan American and Olympic competitions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder