Arizona Track & Field Completes Regular Season against ASU, NAU

May 4, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona's men's and women's track and field teams completed the 2002 regular season with a double-dual meet versus Arizona State and Northern Arizona. On the men's side, Arizona came out on top with victories over ASU (94-89) and NAU (109-74). Arizona State beat NAU by a score of 110-69. In women's action, Arizona State was victorious over Arizona (97-77) and NAU (116-52). The Wildcat women did beat NAU by a score of 97-76.

It was a bittersweet day for the Wildcats as they had some of their best performances of the year, but it was also the last home meet for head coach Dave Murray. Murray has been a Wildcat head coach for 35 years. It is the longest tenure of any current coach at Arizona. Though it was his last home meet, he coached the Wildcats to many impressive performances in Saturday's meet.

In women's sprinting action, Brianna Glenn won the 100m dash with a time of 11.44. Glenn also won the 200m in 23.57. Seynabou Ndiaye followed Glenn in the 100m with a third-place finish in a time of 11.86. In the 400m, Gina Mazzone finished fifth with a time of 61.19. Alexandra Komnos won the 100m hurdles in 13.69. Chelsea Powell was third in the race with a time of 14.37. Also in the 100m hurdles, Amanda Underwood was sixth with a time of 15.54. Powell finished second in the 400m hurdles with a 60.70. Lindsay Scarborough clocked a 65.89 to finish fourth, while Gina Mazzone was fifth in 69.64. The 4x100m relay team finished second in 45.77. The team was made up of Ndiaye, Powell, Danielle Price, and Scarborough. The 4x400m relay team was disqualified due to a false start.

In the longer distances, Price led the Wildcats in the 800. She finished first in 2:10.69. Cara Cline was third with a time of 2:12.30. Beth Hoge finished third in the 1,500m, clocking a time of 4:29.15 to improve her Pac-10 qualifying time. In the 5,000m, Tara Chaplin won the race in 17:25.61. Teammate Kim Bates wasn't far behind in second with a time of 17:26.65.

In the women's field events, Amy Linnen finished second in the high jump at 5-5 (1.65m). Underwood finished fourth with a leap of 4-11 (1.50m). Phyllis Brown won the pole vault competition after a vault of 11-9 � (3.60m). Whitney Schauer placed second to Brown with a leap of 11-3 � (3.45m). Underwood was sixth in the long jump with a leap of 16-0 � (4.88m). Glenn won the triple jump with only one attempt, finishing with a leap of 39-11 � (12.18m). In the shot put, Angela Foster finished fifth with a throw of 42-5 � (12.93m). Foster was fourth in the discus after a toss of 148-7 (45.30m). She won the hammer throw after throwing 193-0 (58.83m). Julie DeMarni won the javelin competition with a throw of 158-5 (48.30m).

In men's sprinting action, Mike Kenyon won the 100m dash with a time of 10.42. This was his first time running in this event during the whole season. Kenyon also won the 200m with a time of 20.64, which provisionally qualifies him for the NCAA Championships. Chris Harris finished fifth in the 200m with a time of 22.44. In the 400m, Matt Lea was fourth, clocking a time of 48.17. Adrain Thomas finished sixth in the 400m with a time of 48.88. In the 110m high hurdles, Jeff Hunter finished second with a time of 14.03. Hunter also finished second in the 400m intermediate hurdles after clocking a time of 51.83. The 4x100m relay team finished second in 39.95. This improves the team's NCAA provisional qualifying time. The 4x400m relay team finished second in 3:17.41. The team was slowed down due to a dropped baton.

In the distance races, Aaron Powell finished third in the 800m in 1:52.69. Tom Prindiville was fourth in the 1,500m with a time of 3:50.96. Also in the 1,500m, Kevin Engelhardt finished eighth in 3:53.81. Matt McInvale finished fourth in the 5,000m with a time of 15:06.88. Mike Howard was right behind in fifth finishing with a time of 15:20.16.

In men's field events, Matt Johnson finished second in the high jump with a leap of 6-8 � (2.05m). Peter Fabian finished fourth with a jump of 6-6 � (2.00m). The Wildcat men swept the pole vault competition by finishing 1-2-3. Mike Mortensen followed up is Drake Relays title by winning the event again. He improved his personal best from last week to 17-7 (5.36m). Kevin Opalka finished second with a leap of 16-10 � (5.15m). Chris Chappell finished third at the same height as Opalka. J.R. Harrison placed third in the long jump with a leap of 22-8 (6.91m). He finished first in the triple jump with a distance of 50-5 � (15.38m). Sean Shields won the shot put with a throw of 61-1 � (18.62m). Shields also won the discus event by throwing 181-10 (55.43m). Richard Legarra finished second with a throw of 173-4 (52.83m). Legarra won the hammer throw with a mark of 194-9 (59.36m). Scott Sharpe finished second (181-2, 55.21m), while Ryan Moore was third (173-11. 53.02m). Matt Wagner won the javelin competition with a throw of 226-4 (69.00m) to improve his NCAA provisional qualifying mark. Jared Morell finished fourth with a mark of 205-6 (62.64m).

The Wildcats will begin post-season competition at the Pac-10 Combined Championships from May 11-12 in Pullman, Wash.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder