Cardinal Receives Bid To NCAA West Regional

May 6, 2002

Indianapolis, Ind. - The Stanford University men's golf team has been selected by the Division I Men's Golf Committee to participate in the 2002 NCAA Men's Golf Championships. The Cardinal were invited to the NCAA West Regional at the University of New Mexico Championship Golf Course in Albuquerque as the 18th seed.

Stanford received its fourth consecutive bid to the regionals and are coming off two second place finishes in their last two events. The Cardinal took second in the U.S. Intercollegiate and at the Pacific-10 Championships. Philip Rowe and Jim Seki were both named First Team All-Pac-10 following the championships. Seki took home the individual Pac-10 title, while Rowe finished tied for second.

The Cardinal will enter the Western Regional as the 18th seed, while Pac-10 Champion USC is the top team. Texas, Minnesota, Fresno State and Washington round out the top-five seeds.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 16-18. A total of 27 teams and six individuals have been selected for each regional competition with ten teams and two individuals advancing from each regional to the championships finals.

The championships will be conducted May 29-June 1 at Ohio State University's Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio. Ohio State University is the host institution for this year's championships.

University of New Mexico Championship Golf Course in Albuquerque
Hosted by the University of New Mexico.

Teams (seeded in the following order):1.	Southern California (Pacific-10)2.	Texas (Big 12)3.	Minnesota (Big Ten)4.	Fresno State5.	Washington6.	New Mexico7.	Pepperdine (West Coast)8.	San Diego State9.	Arizona10.	Nevada11.	Oregon12.	Ohio State13.	UCLA14.	Washington State15.	UC Irvine (Big West)16.	Pacific (California)17.	UNLV (Mountain West)18.	Stanford19.	Arizona State20.	Texas Tech21.	California22.	Brigham Young23.	Colorado State24.	Illinois State (Missouri Valley)25.	Detroit (Horizon)26.	Indiana/Purdue-Indianapolis (Mid-Continent)27.	Central Connecticut State (Northeast)

Individuals:1. Chris Baryla, UTEP2. Ben Leestma, Air Force3. David Yarnes, Oregon State4. Brandon Hillpot, UC Riverside5. Mike Urbatchka, Wyoming6. Erik Billinger, Denver

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder