Husky Men's Golfers Seeded Fifth at NCAA West Regional

May 6, 2002

Seattle - The 13th-ranked Washington men's golf has been seeded fifth at the NCAA West Regional to be held May 16-18 at the University of New Mexico. The top 10 teams and the top-2 individuals not on those teams in the NCAA West Regional will advance to the NCAA Championships in Columbus, Ohio, May 29 - June 1.

Washington is looking to make its fourth straight trip to the NCAA Championships.

The West Regional includes nine Pac-10 teams, headlined by top seed USC, the winner of this year's conference tournament. The 54-hole event will be played on New Mexico's par 72, 7,368-yard Championship Course. The West Regional will include a practice round on May 15. Teams will tee off at 7:12 a.m. (MDT) and 1:21 p.m. (MDT) each day.

Georgia Tech, the nation's top-ranked team, heads up a strong East Regional that includes six of the top ranked teams in the nation. Oklahoma State, ranked sixth, is the top seed at the Central Regional.

NCAA West Regional
University of New Mexico
UNM Championship Course

1. Southern California2. Texas3. Minnesota4. Fresno State5. Washington6. New Mexico7. Pepperdine8. San Diego State9. Arizona10. Nevada11. Oregon12. Ohio State13. UCLA14. Washington State15. UC Irvine16. Pacific17. UNLV18. Stanford19. Arizona State20. Texas Tech21. California22. Brigham Young23. Colorado State24. Illinois State25. Detroit26. Indiana/Purdue-Indianapolis27. Central Connecticut State


Chris Baryla, UTEPBen Leestma, Air ForceDavid Yarnes, Oregon StateBrandon Hillpot, UC RiversideMike Urbatchka, WyomingErik Billinger, Denver

NCAA East Regional
Georgia Tech
Ansley Golf Club's Settin' Down Creek (Roswell, Ga.)

1. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast)2. Florida3. Tennessee4. Wake Forest5. Clemson6. Augusta State7. Auburn (SEC)8. Georgia9. North Carolina10. Duke11. Alabama-Birmingham12. North Florida13. South Carolina14. Virginia15. College of Charleston (Southern)16. Michigan State17. Coastal Carolina (Big South)18. Furman19. Georgia Southern20. Jacksonville State (Atlantic Sun)21. Virginia Commonwealth (Colonial)22. Penn State23. South Alabama (Sun Belt)24. William and Mary25. Yale26. Rhode Island (Atlantic 10)27. Iona (Metro Atlantic)


1. Andy Smith, Southeastern Louisiana2. Brandt Snedeker, Vanderbilt3. Tim Yelverton, Southern Mississippi4. Simon Dunn, Campbell5. Adam Gee, North Carolina-Wilmington6. David Ryles, Charleston Southern

NCAA Central Regional
Arkansas-Little Rock
Pleasant Valley Country Club (Little Rock, Ark.)

1. TCU (C-USA)2. North Carolina State3. Oklahoma State4. Virginia Tech (Big East)5. Oklahoma6. Toledo (MAC)7. Purdue8. Lamar (Southland)9. Baylor10. Alabama11. LSU12. Tulsa (WAC)13. Kansas14. Southern Methodist15. Illinois16. Houston17. Missouri18. Colorado19. Texas-Arlington20. Northwestern21. Arkansas State22. Maryland23. St. John's (New York)24. Austin Peay State (Ohio Valley)25. Princeton (Ivy)26. Army (Patriot)27. Jackson State (SWAC)


1. Gibby Martens, Texas-San Antonio2. John Holmes, Kentucky3. Erik Herberth, Ohio4. David Jenkins, Southwest Missouri State5. Adrian Mork, McNeese State6. Aaron Watkins, Kansas State
Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder