Women's Tennis Qualifies for NCAA Regionals

May 6, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - The No. 19 Arizona women's tennis team has been announced as a qualifier for the 64-team NCAA Championships for the first time since 1997. The Wildcats will travel up to the regional site of Tempe, Ariz. this weekend to face the No. 26 San Diego State Aztecs in the opening round on Saturday, May 11 at 8:00 a.m. The other teams playing at the regional site include No. 10 Arizona State and Southwest Missouri State.

The Wildcats are led into the NCAA Regionals by freshman Maja Mlakar, ranked No. 19 in singles. Also ranked in singles for the Wildcats are sophomore Debbie Larocque, No. 59, and freshman Dianne Hollands, No. 106. The doubles duo of Mlakar and Larocque is ranked No. 9 in the country.

Arizona comes in with a 12-11 record, their first winning season since 1998 when they finished 10-9. The Wildcats concluded the Pac-10 season with a 4-4 mark, its first mark of .500 or better since 1997. San Diego State finished their season with an 18-8 record. Arizona State finished 13-7 while Southwest Missouri State wound up with a 16-6 mark.Arizona has played Arizona State twice this season. The Sun Devils were victorious on Feb. 27, defeated the Wildcats 4-3. Arizona topped ASU in Tucson on April 20, 4-3. Arizona has not played the other two teams in the NCAA Regionals bracket this season.

Additionally, freshman Maja Mlakar was awarded an automatic bid into the singles bracket at the NCAA Championships on May 20-24. UA's Larocque was named an alternate in the singles bracket. In doubles play at the NCAA Championships, Larocque and Mlakar earned an automatic bid. They are currently ranked No. 9 and advanced to the semifinals at the Pac-10 Championships.

Saturday May 11
8:00 am. - Arizona vs. San Diego State
12:00 p.m. - Arizona State vs. SW Missouri State

Sunday May 12
10:00 a.m. - Two First Round Winners

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder