Former Sun Devil John Jefferson Elected To College Football Hall Of Fame

May 7, 2002

TEMPE, Ariz. -- Former Arizona State standout wide receiver John Jefferson (1974-77) was announced today as one of 13 players that will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.

Jefferson, who is a 1979 Inductee into the Arizona State Hall of Fame, is known as arguably the greatest pass-catcher in the history of the Arizone State program. Jefferson rewrote the university, Western Athletic Conference and NCAA record books.

Jefferson's breakout year occurred in 1975 when he led the Sun Devils with 52 receptions and 921 yards receiving on the way to a perfect 12-0 season and an appearance in the Fiesta Bowl, where he was named Most Valuable Player.

A consensus All-America selection in 1977 and two-time All-Conference pick, Jefferson concluded his career with an NCAA record 42 consecutive games with a reception. He remains the ASU All-Time leader in career receptions with 188 and career receiving yardage with 2,993. Recognized as Arizona Amateur Athlete of the Year in 1977, he was twice selected as the team's Most Valuable Player and led the team in receiving all four years.

Following graduation, Jefferson was selected fourth overall in the first round of the 1978 National Football League draft by the San Diego Chargers.

He played parts of eight NFL seasons with the Chargers, Green Bay Packers and Cleveland Browns, being named to the Pro Bowl four times. After retiring, Jefferson became an assistant coach at the University of Kansas before becoming director of player development for the Washington Redskins.

Jefferson becomes the third Sun Devil to be inducted into the College Hall of Fame. Legendary head coach Frank Kush was inducted in 1996, quarterback great Danny White was inducted in 1997 and Mike Haynes was inducted last year.


Terry Beasley, Auburn, Split End, 1969-71George 'Sonny' Franck, Minnesota, Tailback, 1938-40Cosmo Iacavazzi, Princeton, Running Back, 1962-64John Jefferson, Arizona State, Wide Receiver, 1974-77Ronnie Lott, Southern California, Safety, 1977-80Dan Marino, Pittsburgh, Quarterback, 1979-82Napoleon McCallum, Navy, Tailback, 1983-85Reggie McKenzie, Michigan, Offensive Guard, 1969-71Randy Rhino, Georgia Tech, Defensive Back, 1972-74Jerry Sisemore, Texas, Offensive Tackle, 1970-72Gary Spani, Kansas State, Linebacker, 1974-77Reggie White, Tennessee, Defensive Tackle, 1980-83Kellen Winslow, Missouri, Tight End, 1976-78

COACHES, SCHOOL(S), YEARS, RECORDEarle Bruce, Tampa, Iowa State, Ohio State, No. Iowa, Colorado State -1972-92- 154-90-2Carmen Cozza, Yale - 1965-96 - 179-119-5

Hall of Fame Selection Criteria:


2. A player becomes eligible for consideration, by the Foundation's HonorsCourt ten years after his last year of intercollegiate football played.

3. While each nominee's football achievements are of prime consideration,his post football record as a citizen is also weighed. He must have provenhimself worthy as a citizen, carrying the ideals of football forward intohis relations with his community and his fellow man with love of hiscountry. Consideration may also be given for academic honors and whether ornot the candidate earned a college degree.

4. Players must have played within the last 50 years. (It is within thejurisdiction of the Awards Committee and Honors Court to make exceptions tothis rule). In addition, players who are playing professionally and coacheswho are coaching on the professional level are not eligible until after theyretire.

5. A coach becomes eligible three years after retirement providing he was ahead coach for a minimum of 10 years and coached at least 100 games with a.600 winning percentage.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network