Four Bruins Earn All-Pac-10 Honors

May 7, 2002

Pac-10 Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Los Angeles - Tobias Clemens and Rodrigo Grilli headline a list of four UCLA men's tennis players that received All-Pac-10 honors Tuesday. In addition, the Bruin doubles tandem of Marcin Matkowski and Jean-Julien Rojer was named the Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year.

Clemens, a sophomore from Bonn, Germany, was named to the first-team after serving as UCLA's No. 1 singles player for much of the season. He is the only 30-match winner on the team, with a 31-8 overall record, including a 12-4 mark in the No. 1 position. He is currently ranked No. 10 in singles and No. 29 in doubles with partner Lassi Ketola. It is the first All-Pac-10 honor of his career.

The Bruins' other first-team selection Grilli, a junior from Sao Paulo, Brazil, is in his first year at UCLA after transferring from College of the Desert. Two weeks ago in Ojai, Calif., he became the first Bruin since 1993 to win the Pac-10 Singles Championship. He owns an impressive 28-3 overall singles record and is currently ranked No. 32 in the nation. In addition to his title at Ojai, he won the first tournament he entered as a Bruin back in January, claiming the title at the National Collegiate Tennis Classic in Las Vegas, Nev.

Matkowski (Szczecin, Poland) and Rojer (Curacao, Netherlands-Antilles), makeup the No. 1 ranked doubles tandem in the country. They earned Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year honors after compiling a 34-7 overall record, including a 14-4 mark in dual-match play. They are also coming off a title at the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai and have been ranked in the top-2 all season. In addition to their doubles honor, Matkowski was named second-team All-Pac-10 and Rojer was an honorable mention selection. It is the first All-Pac-10 honor for Matkowski and third for Rojer.

UCLA is hosting NCAA Regional action this weekend at the Los Angeles Tennis Center. Play begins this Saturday with Hampton taking on San Diego State at 9:00 a.m., followed by fourth-seeded UCLA vs. UC Santa Barbara at Noon. Saturday's winners will meet on Sunday in the regional final at Noon, with the winner advancing to the 16-team NCAA Championships, May 18-27 in College Station, TX.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network