Leach Named Pac-10 Men's Tennis Coach Of The Year

May 7, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote taken by the Pacific-10 Conference men's tennis coaches, USC's head coach Dick Leach has been named 2002 Pac-10 Coach of the Year. The honor is Leach's fifth of his career (he was also honored in 1987, 1991, 1992 and 1994).

The Pac-10 also released all-conference selections on Tuesday. The Trojans' Andrew Park and Ryan Moore each received All-Pac-10 accolades for the second consecutive year. Park was named to the first team, while Moore was named honorable mention.

Following is the complete list of 2002 honors.

Pac-10 Player of the Year
K.J. Hippensteel, Stanford

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year
Jean-Julien Rojer/Marcin Matkowski, UCLA

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year
Alex Vlaski, Washington

Pac-10 Coach of the Year
Richard Leach, USC

All-Pac-10 First Team
Steven Capriati, Arizona
Tobias Clemens, UCLA
John-Paul Fruttero, Cal
Rodrigo Grilli, UCLA
K.J. Hippensteel, Stanford
Andrew Park, USC

All-Pac-10 Second Team
Matt Hanlin, Washington
Matt Klinger, Arizona State
Scott Lipsky, Stanford
David Martin, Stanford
Marcin Matkowski, UCLA
Alex Vlaski, Washington

All-Pac-10 Honorable Mention
Ryan Haviland, Stanford
Manuel Kost, Oregon
Ryan Moore, USC
Jean-Julien Rojer, UCLA
Oded Teig, Oregon
Balazs Veress, Cal

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder