K.J. Hippensteel Named Pac-10 Player Of The Year

May 8, 2002

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford University senior K.J. Hippensteel (Roanoke, VA) has been named the 2002 Pac-10 Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year in a vote by conference coaches.

Hippensteel, who is a three-time All-American, is currently ranked second in the nation in singles. He is 21-4 in singles this season, including a 15-4 mark in dual competition. Hippensteel won the ITA All-American Championship in October and helped lead the Cardinal to a 19-5 overall record and 5-2 mark in the Pac-10.

Stanford has now captured Pac-10 Player of the Year honors in each of the last six seasons. Bob Bryan and Ryan Wolters started the string in 1997, and were followed by Paul Goldstein in 1998, Wolters again in 1999, Geoff Abrams and Alex Kim in 2000 and Kim again in 2001.

Hippensteel was also named First Team All-Pac-10, while juniors Scott Lipsky (Merrick, NY) and David Martin (Tulsa, OK) were named to the Second Team and junior Ryan Haviland (Sumter, SC) was named Honorable Mention.

Pac-10 Men's Tennis All-Conference Team

First Team - Steven Capriati (Arizona), Tobias Clemens (UCLA), John-Paul Fruttero (California), Rodrigo Grilli (UCLA), K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford), Andrew Park (USC).

Second Team - Matt Hanlin (Washington), Matt Klinger (Arizona State), Scott Lipsky (Stanford), David Martin (Stanford), Marcin Matkowski (UCLA), Alex Vlaski (Washington).

Honorable Mention - Ryan Haviland (Stanford), Manuel Kost (Oregon), Ryan Moore (USC), Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA), Oded Teig (Oregon), Balazs Veress (California).

Player of the Year - K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford)

Doubles Team of the Year - Marcin Matkowski/Jean-Julien Rojer (UCLA)

Freshman of the Year - Alex Vlaski (Washington)

Coach of the Year - Richard Leach (USC)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder