Women's Tennis Players Earn Pac-10 Honors

May 8, 2002

TUCSON, Ariz. - Three Arizona women's tennis players were awarded postseason honors by the Pac-10 Conference this season. UA freshman Maja Mlakar was named to the second team while freshman Dianne Hollands and sophomore Debbie Larocque were awarded honorable mention honors.

Mlakar is ranked No. 19 and has compiled a 21-14 record in her first year as a Wildcat. Joining Mlakar on the second team were Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette from Stanford, Raquel Kops-Jones of California, USC's Luana Magnani and Erica Perkins of Washington State.

Larocque and Hollands earned honorable mention, the first of either player's career. Larocque is 21-14 on the year with a 5-3 singles mark in Pac-10 play. Hollands owns a 14-12 record and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif.

The Pac-10 first team consisted of Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra of Stanford, Megan Bradley and Sara Walker of UCLA, Adria Angel of Arizona State and USC's Jewel Peterson. Lastra was named Pac-10 Women's Player of the Year while Lastra and Kalvaria won Pac-10 Women's Doubles Team of the Year. UCLA's Megan Bradley was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Washington State's Cari Groce was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

No. 19 Arizona continues action this weekend at the NCAA Regional in Tempe, Ariz. The Wildcats face No. 26 San Diego State on Saturday, May 11 at 8:00 a.m.

Pac-10 First Team
Megan Bradley, UCLA
Adria Angel, Arizona State
Lauren Kalvaria, Stanford
Gabriela Lastra, Stanford
Jewel Peterson, USC
Sara Walker, UCLA

Pac-10 Second Team
Lauren Barnikow, Stanford
Erin Burdette, Stanford
Raquel Kops-Jones, California
Luana Magnani, USC
Maja Mlakar, Arizona
Erica Perkins, Washington State

Honorable Mention
Claire Carter, Washington
Dianne Hollands, Arizona
Stacy McKenna, Washington State
Debbie Larocque, Arizona
Tiffany Brymer, USC
Christina Fusano, California
Darija Klaic, Washington
Dora Krstulovic, Arizona State
Catherine Lynch, California
Janice Nyland, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder