Curtis Borchardt, Casey Jacobsen Named Hank Luisetti MVP's

May 9, 2002

Stanford, Ca - Curtis Borchardt and Casey Jacobsen, both All-Americans during the 2001-02 season, were named the team's co-winners of the Hank Luisetti Most Valuable Player, announced recently at the team's annual banquet.

Borchardt, who led the Pac-10 in blocks (86) and rebounding (11.4 rpg), also averaged 16.9 ppg. Borchardt was named an honorable mention All-American by Associated Press and named All Pac-10 first team. Borchardt became the first Stanford player to lead the conference in blocks. Borchardt also was named the team's Best Defensive Player.

Jacobsen led the Pac-10 in scoring (21.9 ppg), earned his third all-conference selection, and was named second team All-American by Associated Press and the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Jacobsen became Stanford's first conference scoring champion since the 1983-84 season. During the course of the 2001-02 campaign, Jacobsen became Stanford's third all-time leading career scorer with 1,723 points.

Nick Robinson, a valuable reserve during the 2001-02 season, was named winner of the Howie Dallmar Coaches Award, presented to the Stanford player who displayed excellence on-and-off the court.

Tony Giovacchini, Stanford's starting point-guard this past season, was named Most Inspirational Player; Freshman guard Chris Hernandez was named winner of the Roy Young Toughness Award; and for the second straight season, Julius Barnes was named Most Improved Player.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network