Rick Leach To Be Inducted To ITA Hall Of Fame

May 15, 2002

SKILLMAN, N.J. -- The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) will induct seven new members into its ITA Men's Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame during the NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships on May 22 at Texas A&M University in College Station.

Six former players and one coach will be inducted: (players) Richard Harte of Harvard, Julius Seligson of Lehigh, Erick Iskersky of Trinity (Texas), Tim Mayotte of Stanford, Paul Annacone of Tennessee and Rick Leach of USC; and (coach) Bernis Duke of Oral Roberts. Harte and Seligson are being inducted posthumously.

Players are eligible for election to the ITA Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments as well as honors earned after college. College tennis legend Dan Magill serves as curator for the ITA Hall of Fame, which is housed at the University of Georgia in Athens.

Leach was named ITA National Player of the Year in '86 while playing for his father, Dick, at USC. He won NCAA doubles titles in '86 (with Tim Pawsat) and '87 (with Scott Melville), and reached the NCAA finals (with Pawsat) in '84. Leach, a four-time ITA All-American in singles and doubles, was also a two-time Omni Hotels/ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor doubles champ in '84 and '87. He has won five Grand Slam doubles title as a pro, most recently the 2000 Australian Open. He's been on numerous U.S. Davis Cup squads, including the 1990 championship team. Earlier this year he extended his consecutive doubles title streak for a record 16th consecutive year.

The ITA Men's Tennis Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 1983 and has inducted more than 150 players, coaches and contributors. Members include the late Arthur Ashe (UCLA), Jimmy Connors (UCLA), John McEnroe (Stanford) and Stan Smith (USC). The ITA Women's Hall of Fame is located at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va., and will have its induction ceremonies this November.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network