No. 8 Women's Varsity Eight Travels To Pac-10s

May 16, 2002

CAL TRAVELS TO PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS: The No. 8 ranked Cal women's crew travels to the Lake Natoma in Rancho Cordova to compete in the Pac-10 Rowing Championships, April 19. Races begin at 8:40 a.m. on Sunday with the championships concluding at approximately 3:10 p.m. An awards ceremony will immediately follow the completion of the races. For a complete listing of all the races and times, please see the Pac-10 website,

CAL WOMEN'S CREW 2002: After its third-consecutive team invitation to the NCAA Championships Regatta, Cal women's crew is established as one of the premier programs in the country, and looks to challenge for the 2002 national title. Fourth-year head coach Dave O'Neill returns nearly his entire team from 2001, which placed sixth at NCAAs last May.The youth which marked last season has developed into experience, as 18 of the 20 rowers who competed at the 2001 NCAA Championships return. These athletes are more skilled and seasoned, and O'Neill is proud and impressed with the development of the squad.

PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS RACING SCHEDULE: The following schedule reflects the heats and grand finals for all events that Cal has entered at Pac-10s. As a note the men's varsity four is a final only event. The crew's seed appears next to its name.

TIME	EVENT	LANE  1	LANE  2	LANE  3	LANE  4	LANE  5	LANE  6	LANE  78:40	WV4 Ht.1	CAL1	WSU4	STAN5	SSU8	SDS99:10	MFN8 Ht.2	CAL2	OSU3	UCD6	UCLA7	SMC10	CHAP119:30	WN8 Ht.2	OSU2	CAL3	SDS6	USC7	HSU10	ORE119:50	W2V8 Ht.2	OSU2	CAL3	SDS6	USC7	UCD10	UCSB1110:00	M2V8 Ht.1	CAL1	STAN4	UCD5	SSU8	WSU910:30	MV8 Ht.2	CAL2	OSU3	WWU6	UCSD7	WSU10	SCU1111:00	WV8 Ht.3	STAN3	CAL4	LMU9	UCD10	ORE15				FINALSTIME	EVENT	LANE  1	LANE  2	LANE  3	LANE  4	LANE  5	LANE  6	LANE  712:40	WV4  GF1:00	MV4 GF	CAL1	WASH2	UCD3	UCSD4	SSU5	ORE6	SDS71:20	MFN8 GF1:40	WN8 GF2:00	W2V8 GF2:20	M2V8 GF3:00	MV8 GF3:10	WV8 GF	

COMPETITION QUICK LOOK: The No. 1 ranked Washington Huskies enter the Pac-10 Championships as the top seed. The Huskies are the two-time defending NCAA Champions. No. 9 USC's dual race victory over Stanford earned it the two seed at Pac-10s while the Cardinal's dual race win over the Bears locked up a three seed. Cal is seeded fourth and Oregon State fifth.

PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY: The last time the Bears came away with a varsity Pac-10 or Pacific Coast Rowing Championship was in 1979. Since then the Washington Huskies have won the event all but two times. In 1990 and '91 UCLA claimed the title. The Bears finished second to Washington each of the last four seasons. Cal's 1989 women's novice eight was the last Bears eight to bring home a Pac-10 title.

DIRECTIONS: From the Bay Area take I-80 East and follow the signs to I-50 South Lake Tahoe just as you reach Sacramento. Heading East on I-50 from Sacramento, take the Hazel Ave. exit (in the Town of Rancho Cordova) and turn left at the top of the offramp. The parking area is on your right hand side.

PCRC CHAMPIONSHIP ENTRIES: The Cal women's novice 'b' and open eight (3V) will compete at the Pacific Coast Rowing Championships on Saturday, April 18 at Lake Natoma. The PCRC competition is geared primarily to smaller, non-Pac-10 institutions. The crews race at 12:40 p.m. and 2:40 p.m. respectively.

CAL IN THE POLLS: The Cal women's varsity eight is ranked No. 8 in the most recent USRowing / Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Poll released May, 15.

Team (1st-Place Votes)	Points	Previous Rank1.  University of Washington (13)	393	12.  Brown University (7)	387	23.  The Ohio State University	356	34.  Yale University	328	65.  University of Michigan	324	56.  Harvard University	287	87.  Princeton University	270	48.  CALIFORNIA	255	79.  University of Southern California 	238	910. Michigan State University	215	1111. Syracuse University	210	1012. Stanford University	182	1213. Oregon State University	152	1614. University of Virginia	151	1315. University of Notre Dame	129	1416. Washington State University	93	1717. Cornell University	91	1819. Northeastern University	34	1920. Duke University	30	20

Others receiving votes: University of Texas 13, Boston University 4, University of Minnesota 4, University of Massachusetts 3, University of Wisconsin 3, Clemson University 1, and College of the Holy Cross 1.

TENTATIVE PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS LINEUPS:Seat	Varsity 8+	Seat	JV 8+	Seat	Freshman 8+	Seat	Varsity 4+cox	Shaina Kennedy	cox	Kate Goodman	cox	Meagan Linn	cox	Anita SarrettStr.	Khobi Brooklyn	Str.	Patsy McGuire	Str.	Danielle Mainas	Str.	Jane Griffith7	Megan Cooke	7	Elyse Lerum	7	Erin Cafaro	3	Lorraine Coke6	Martha Helgeland	6	Teresa Oja	6	Christina Georghiou	2	Emily Getchel5	Ariana Canova	5	Katie Waller	5	Ashley Clark	Bow	Hilary Meu4	Laura Terheyden	4	Ona Johnson	4	Emily Burkett3	Shelle Orem	3	Brenda Mueller	3	Whitney Kimmel2	Erin Sanford	2	Molly Denning	2	Karin CliftonBow	Hilarie Martin	Bow	Andrea McDermott	Bow	Anna Heimbichner	
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder