No. 12 Stanford Heads To Pac-10 Championship And Pacific Coast Rowing Championship

May 15, 2002

No. 12 Stanford heads to Lake Natoma this weekend to race in the PAC 10 Championship and the Pacific Coast Rowing Championship. The varsity 8, junior varsity 8, and varsity four will be competing at PAC 10's on Sunday, May 19. Each of these boats will be looking to finish in the top three in order to strengthen Stanford's candidacy for a team bid to the NCAA Championships in two weeks. The varsity 8 is currently ranked third in the west coast region and will be looking not only to avenge their loss to USC but also to close the cap on Washington in order to jump into the top two positions. The junior varsity eight is ranked fifth. With a close finish behind Washington State at the Opening Day Regatta, this Stanford crew is ready for a rematch! Cal, Oregon State, and Washington will be crews challenging the JV's pursuit of a medal performance. Lastly, the Stanford's varsity four who is currently ranked fourth will look to see what this line up can do to upset the rankings of Cal, Oregon State, and Washington.

On Saturday, May 18 Stanford will also enter an Open Four and an Open Eight in the Pacific Coast Rowing Championships. These two races will give these Stanford athletes a season ending championship of their own. The Novice Women's Eight, unable to race at PAC 10's due to loosing five of its athletes to varsity boats, will double up two rowers and compete in the Open event. This will be the final race for this class of novices and will surely prove to be a good one.

Line ups for this weekend will be as follows:
Varisty 8: Junior Varsity 8: Varsity 4:
c: Wendy Hoeveler c: Kelly Garneski c: Kasey Alderete
8: Sabrina Kolker 8: Anjali Malhotra 4: Umi Jensen
7: Melissa Haury 7: Ashley Maloney 3: Kenny Ajayi
6: Missy Fiesler 6: Katy Jackman 2: Taiwo Ajayi
5: Sam Magee 5: Megan Burritt 1: Alison Appling
4: Molly Loeb 4: Jenny McColloch
3: Claire Phillips 3: Marlo Dreissigacker
2: Marlayna Tuiasosopo 2: Susan BeVille
1: Laurie Benson 1: Lily Liu

Open 8: Open 4:
C: Kasey Alderete c: Erica Maland
8: Kendall Holland 4: Louisa Marion
7: Anya Byers 3: Erin Krampetz
6: Taiwo Ajayi 2: Wei-li Chang
5: Kenny Ajayi 1: Stacie Solt
4: Erin Atkinson
3: Lyndsey Toeppen
2: Sarah Field
1: Sami Lubega

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder