Women Receive First-Ever Bid To NCAA Championships

May 21, 2002

The NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships.

The championships will be held May 31-June 2 at Eagle Creek Reservoir in Indianapolis. Indiana University, Bloomington, and the United States Rowing Association serve as co-hosts.

The team championship is comprised of twelve teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers each and one boat of four rowers. In addition, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition are selected.

The selection of teams and individual boats was based on eligibility and availability of student-athletes; regional championship results; regional rankings; late-season performance; head to head results; results against teams/boats already selected; and results against regionally ranked teams/boats. One team from each region was selected and the remaining seven teams were selected at large.

The following teams were selected:

Michigan State
Ohio State

Notre Dame
Southern California
Washington State

In 2001, the University of Washington stroked to its third National Collegiate Women's Rowing Championship title, outlasting the University of Michigan and Brown University, the defending champion, at Lake Lanier in Gainesville, Georgia. The Huskies won both the I Eights and Fours en route to the title.

Washington's title was its first since 1998, the last time the NCAA championships were held on Lake Lanier.

The Huskies, top seeded from the West region, clinched the title by clipping their two rowing rival in I Eights. Trailing Michigan by one point heading into the race, Washington jumped into the lead over the course's first 500 meters despite a strong headwind. Brown then nudged ahead at the 1,000- and 1,500-meter posts, leading by as much as half a length. But, the Huskies rallied with a furious finish.

For ticket information, call 866/487-7678 or go online at:

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network