Ryan Haviland, David Martin Advance To NCAA Singles Semifinals

May 25, 2002

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - Stanford University juniors Ryan Haviland (Aiken, SC) and David Martin (Tulsa, OK) advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Singles Championship with straight set victories on Saturday afternoon at the Texas A&M Tennis Center. Martin also reached the NCAA Doubles Semifinals with junior Scott Lipsky (Merrick, NY).

The Cardinal has two players in the NCAA Singles Semifinals for the second time in three years. In 2000, eventual champion Alex Kim defeated teammate K.J. Hippensteel in three sets in the semifinals.

Martin reached the semifinals with an impressive victory over Bay Area rival John Paul Fruttero of California. Martin knocked off Fruttero, who was a No. 9-16 seed in the tournament, 7-6 (3), 6-2. The Cardinal junior will face top-seeded and defending NCA Singles Champion Matias Boeker of Georgia in the semifinals on Sunday at noon (Pacific Time).Haviland secured a berth in the semifinals by making quick work of Georgia's Brandon Wagner. Haviland cruised to a 6-2, 6-1 victory, and will face fourth-seeded Jesse Witten of Kentucky in the semifinals on Sunday at noon (PT).

In doubles, the second-seeded Lipsky and Martin survived a slow start before outlasting James Cameron and John Chesworth of Furman 5-7, 6-4, 6-2. Lipsky and Martin, who also reached the semifinals last year, will face Phillip King and Michael Yani of Duke on Sunday at 3:00 p.m. (PT).

2002 NCAA Men's Tennis Singles Championship

Saturday, May 25, 2002

At College Station, Texas (Texas A&M Tennis Center)


#1 seed Matias Boeker (Georgia) d. Nick Rainey (Southern California), 7-5, 6-2

David Martin (Stanford) d. No. 9-16 seed John Paul Fruttero (California), 7-6 (3), 6-2

No. 4 seed Jesse Witten (Kentucky) d. Oliver Maiberger (San Diego State), 6-3, 3-6, 6-1

Ryan Haviland (Stanford) d. Brandon Wagner (Georgia), 6-2, 6-1

2002 NCAA Men's Tennis Doubles Championship

Saturday, May 25, 2002

At College Station, Texas (Texas A&M Tennis Center)


Andrew Colombo/Mark Kovacs (Auburn) d. Thomas Haug/Harsh Mankad (Minnesota), 6-4, 7-5

No. 4 seeds Michael Calkins/Amer Delic (Illinois) d. No. 5-8 seeds Rodrigo Echagaray/Jose Zarhi (Texas), 6-3, 6-4

Phillip King/Michael Yani (Duke) d. No. 3 seeds Oliver Maiberger/Ryan Redondo (San Diego State), 4-6, 6-4, 6-3

No. 2 seeds Scott Lipsky/David Martin (Stanford) d. James Cameron/John Chesworth (Furman), 5-7, 6-4, 6-2

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder