Kohn, Davidson Named All-Pac-10 First Team

May 28, 2002

Washington baseball players Shawn Kohn and Tyler Davidson have been named to the All-Pac-10baseball first team, which was announced today by the Pac-10 Conference office.

Kohn, a senior right-handed pitcher from Woodinville, led the Pac-10 with 11 wins during the regularseason, and was second in the league with his 3.15 earned run average. His 11 wins tie him for the Huskysingle-season record and his eight complete games are the most by a Husky pitcher since 1986.

Davidson, a junior outfielder from Edmonds (Meadowdale High), finished the regular season batting .336with a team-high 78 hits, 59 runs and 17 doubles. He also hit 13 home runs, drove in 47 and stole 10bases.

Seven other Huskies received All-Pac-10 honorable mention: Sr. 3B Michael Done (Littleton, Colo.), Jr.OF Jay Garthwaite (Kent/Kent-Meridian), Fr. C Aaron Hathaway (Vancouver/Columbia River), So. 2BGreg Isaacson (Aberdeen), Fr. 1B Kyle Larsen (Redmond/Eastlake), Jr. SS Tila Reynolds(Renton/Liberty) and Jr. RHP Sean White (Mercer Island).

The Huskies depart tomorrow morning for Houston, where they will take part in one of 16 NCAARegionals. The UW takes on Texas Tech Friday night at 5:00 p.m. PDT. Rice, the host of the four-teamregional plays Harvard earlier Friday.

Stanford's Jeremy Guthrie was named the league's pitcher of the year. USC catcher Alberto Concepcionwas the player of the year, and UCLA pitcher/first baseman Wes Whisler garnered freshman of the yearhonors. USC coach Mike Gillespie, who led the Trojans to the conference title, was coach of the year.

The 20-man team, voted on the by the nine Pac-10 coaches, follows:

Player            Team  Pos.   Yr.Brian Barden      OSU   3B     Jr.John Baker        CAL   C      Jr.Brian Barre       USC   CF     Sr.Jason Cooper      STAN  UT     Jr.Tyler Davidson    WASH  RF     Jr.Andre Ethier      ASU   OF     So.Sam Fuld          STAN  OF     So.Ryan Garko        STAN  C      Jr.Bookie Gates      WSU   2B     Sr.Brad Hassey       ARIZ  SS     Sr.Conor Jackson     CAL   1B     So.Shawn Kohn        WASH  RHP    Sr.Joey Metropoulos  USC   DH     Fr.Chris O'Riordan   STAN  2B     Sr.Bill Peavey       USC   1B     Sr.Dustin Pedroia    ASU   INF    Fr.Carlos Quentin    STAN  OF     So.Anthony Reyes     USC   RHP    Jr.Jeremy West       ASU   1B     So.Wes Whisler       UCLA  LHP/1B Fr.

Player of the Year: Alberto Concepcion, C, USCPitcher of the Year: Jeremy Guthrie, RHP, StanfordFreshman of the Year: Wes Whisler, LHP/1B, UCLACoach of the Year: Mike Gillespie, USC

Honorable Mention (UW Players Only): Michael Done, Sr., 3B; Jay Garthwaite, Jr., OF;Aaron Hathaway, Fr., C; Greg Isaacson, So., 2B; Kyle Larsen, Fr., WASH;Tila Reynolds, Jr., SS; Sean White, Jr., RHP.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder