Men's Crew Competes At IRA National Championships

May 28, 2002

BEARS RACE AT THE IRA: The No. 1-ranked Cal men's varsity eight will challenge for the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championship, May 30-June 1, at the IRA Regatta on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, NJ. The Bears are three-time defending IRA Champions.

CAL MEN'S CREW 2002: The Cal men's crew's approach to its 2002 season is similar to those that it used to put some of the most successful crews in the history of U.S. collegiate rowing on the water in 1999, 2000 and '01. Simply stated, the Bears focus is on sound technical rowing, pulling harder than their adversaries, and moving their racing shells over the 2000-meter race course more efficiently than the competition.The Bears return 17 letterwinners to aid in the pursuit of these goals including: six Olympians, eight varsity IRA National champions, two JV IRA national champions and four varsity coxed four IRA national champions. Combining this group of gold medalists with eight of nine oarsmen from the 2001 IRA bronze-winning frosh eight creates the intense intrasquad competition necessary for crews to compete at the highest level.

IRA RACING FORMAT: Racing at the IRA consists of heats, repechage (second chance), semifinals, and finals. The repechage race assures that the three fastest crews advance to the semifinal round. The winners of each four heats advance to the semifinal round while the remaining crews are reassigned to repechage races. The top two finishers in each rep also advance to the semifinals rounding out the 12 crew field. The top three crews in each semifinal make up the six crews in the grand final. The varsity and frosh eights and varsity and open fours will qualify for the final under this system. Due to the number of entrants in the JV event, the semifinal round is not needed. Winners of the three heats will advance directly to the final and be joined by the winners of each of three repechage heats.


Thursday, May 30, 2002	Friday, May 31, 2002Morning - Trial Heats	Morning - Repechage HeatsMen's Varsity Eights	Men's Second Varsity EightsMen's Freshman Eights	Afternoon - Semifinal HeatsMen's Varsity Coxed Four	Men's Freshman EightsMen's Second Varsity Eights	Men's Varsity EightsMen's Open Coxed Four	Men's Varsity Coxed FourAfternoon - Repechage Heats	Men's Open Coxed FourMen's Varsity EightsMen's Freshman EightsMen's Varsity Coxed FourMen's Open Coxed Four

Saturday, June 1, 2002Afternoon - FinalsMen's Alumni EightMen's Varsity Coxed FourMen's Freshman EightsMen's Second Varsity EightsMen's Varsity Eights

IRA CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY: The Bears have a strong history of racing at the IRA. Over the years, Cal's varsity has accumulated 13 golds, 6 silver, and 6 bronze medals, including its three-peat at the IRAs from 1999-01. Head coach Steve Gladstone has four Cal IRA championships to his credit (nine overall). Along with his current streak with the Bears, Gladstone directed the 1976 varsity to an IRA win. Bear JV crews have earned 6 golds, 11 silvers, and 9 bronze medals, including last season's win, while Cal frosh crews have 4 golds, 8 silvers, and 2 bronze with the last gold coming in 2001. Cal is also the defending champion in the varsity coxed four.

COMPETITION QUICK LOOK: The No. 1 Bears varsity eight will square off against the fastest crews in the country this weekend at the IRA. Early favorites include both the Pac-10 champion Cal and Eastern Sprints champion No. 4 Wisconsin. Other crews expected to contend include Pac-10 runner-up No. 2 Washington and Eastern Sprints bronze medalist No. 5 Princeton. No. 3 Harvard and No. 12 Yale do not compete at the IRA.

CAL IN THE POLLS: The Bears are currently ranked No. 1 in the USRowing Collegiate Coaches Poll released May 22. Cal received seven first place votes after upsetting then-No. 1 at the Pac-10 Championships, May 19.

Team (1st-Place Votes) 	Points 	Previous1. CALIFORNIA (7)	178	22. University of Washington (1)	171	13. Harvard University	154	34. University of Wisconsin (1)	146	65. Princeton University	145	56. Northeastern University	136	47. Cornell University	124	78. University of Pennsylvania	113	99. Oregon State University	108	810. Dartmouth College	85	1111. Navy	83	1912. Yale University	76	1213. Dowling College	65	1414. Brown University	63	1015. Temple University	52	1316. Stanford University	50	1517. Marist College	47	16t18. Boston University	40	16t19. Georgetown University	23	1820. Syracuse University	13	NR

Others receiving votes: University of Michigan 10, Marietta College 4, Columbia University 3, and Colgate University 1.


Seat	Varsity 8+	Seat	JV 8+	Seat	Freshman 8+cox	Michael Vallarelli	cox	Joseph Manion	cox	Matthew RennerStr.	Jeffery Nalty	Str.	Robert Curran	Str.	Toby Smith7	Scott Frandsen	7	Mike Wallin	7	Marcel Staedter6	Ian McGowan	6	Magnus Fleming	6	Troy Kepper5	Mladen Stegic	5	Padraic Hussey	5	Nikola Vlaovic4	Filip FIlipic	4	Zachary Johnson	4	Eric Davidson3	Ivan Smiljanic	3	Brett Winfield	3	Deaglan McEachern2	Jake Wetzel	2	Jesse Bauman	2	Rory TuttleBow	Nito Simonsen	Bow	Christopher Kennelly	Bow	Joshua Borkowski

Seat Varsity 4+ Seat Open 4+cox Shawn Ghatan cox Joe GhoryStr. Robert Deppisch Str. Matt MacLeod3 Rob Austerman 3 Max Frasca2 Paul O'Sullivan 2 Kristofor LofgrenBow Janik Gasirowski Bow Sam Alison-Mayne

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder