Cardinal Hold Annual Team Awards Banquet

May 30, 2002

Stanford, Calif. - The men's swimming and diving team held their 2002 Team Awards Banquet on Wednesday, May 15th. The main focus of the banquet was to recognize and thank the senior class on an outstanding four years with the program. The 2002 seniors are Jeff Guyman (Mercer Island, Wash.), Peter Lennox-King (Toronto, Ontario, Canada), Michael O'Neil (Roseburg, Ore.) and Mark Siebert (Devon, Pa.).

The recipients of Most Improved Freshmen were Matt McDonald (100/200 fly) and Dan Trupin (200/400 IM).

The recipients for Most Valuable Freshmen went to Matt McDonald (100/200 fly) and Jayme Cramer (fly/back).

Most Improved Upperclassmen were Michael Bruce (breast/IM) and Matt Sorelien (free).

John Waters, a history major, received the James Gaughran Academic Award for excellence.

Markus Rogan and Peter Marshall were also recognized for their success at the World Short Course Championships which were held in Moscow in April 2002.

The Stanford men's swimming team also elected their team captains for the upcoming season. The 2003 captains will be Randall Bal, Markus Rogan, Dan Westcott and John Waters.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder