Men's Crew Finishes 13th At National Championships

June 2, 2002

Cherry Hill, NJ - On the third day of racing at the IRA's, the Stanford Varsity had their best race of the season, winning the Third Level Final in convincing fashion. The crew led wire to wire in dominating style, besting 2001 Royal Henley Regatta Ladies' Plate winner Dartmouth as well as the Brown University Bears.

By the 500m meter mark of the race, the Stanford Varsity had established the lead but continued to expand the margin, charging down the course with spirit and power. The final time of 5:39.6 was indicative of the crew's development and speed.

Last year's 12th place crew finished 5 seconds out of 11th place. This year, the Cardinal's final time was 3 seconds off the fourth place time (Oregon State) in the Grand Final.

The Grand Final for the Varsity Eight showed the rugged quality of non Ivy League crews, as the top four places were captured by California, Wisconsin, Washington and Oregon State. Stanford is the only program to have faced these crews a combined 10 times prior to the IRA Regatta.

In other news, the Stanford Freshmen finished third in the Third Level final, fifteenth overall.

With only Nate Schuett (seven seat), Justin Virgili (two seat) and Simona Chin (Cox) graduating, the future looks bright for the Stanford Crew.

For complete IRA results, visit

Stanford Varsity 8+

Cox) Simona Chin8) Chris Jones7) Nate Schuett6) Jamie Schroeder5) Stuart Scollay4) Bryant Helvey3) Mike Hawkes2) Justin Virgili1) Matt Altman

Varsity Final Results4th Level Final

1 Marietta 5:47.422 Syracuse 5:49.613 Colgate 5:50.34 Rutgers 5:53.845 Columbia 5:56.76

3rd Level Final

1 Stanford 5:39.522 Dartmouth 5:41.973 Marist 5:43.854 Brown 5:43.935 Boston U 5:45.36 Georgetown 5:45.95

Petite Final

1 Dowling 5:35.072 Nrtheastrn 5:35.213 Cornell 5:38.564 Temple 5:39.685 Michigan 5:39.86 Penn 5:42.27

Grand Final

1 California 5:26.812 Wisconsin 5:28.323 Washington 5:30.254 Oregon St 5:36.585 Princeton 5:37.296 Navy 5:39.30

Stanford Freshmen/Novice 8+

Cox) Zack Cooper8) Eric Feeny7) Alex Pagon6) Rob Evans5) David Banks4) Alex Moore3) Eerik Hantsoo2) Austin Shoemaker1) Jamie Green

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder