Softball Announces Annual Team Awards

June 3, 2002

SEATTLE - Washington freshman Kristen Rivera (Perris, Calif.) and junior Amy Hanson (Mt. Vernon, Wash.) were named the softball team's most valuable players for the 2002 season at the Huskies' annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon at the Don James Center.

Rivera was one of two UW players to earn All-America honors, hitting .346 with 13 doubles, 16 home runs, 61 RBI and 35 runs scored in her first collegiate season. The first team all-Pac-10 selection also garnered the Huskies' Newcomer of the Year award, while sharing the Defensive Player of the Year award with teammate Rita Roach (Norwalk, Calif.).

Hanson, meanwhile, was honored for her leadership skills after playing in just seven games in 2002. The 5-7 junior catcher had entered the year as one of the team's six returning starters, but saw her season cut short by a shoulder injury in late February.

A first team All-American, junior Jaime Clark (Tustin, Calif.) earned the team's Offensive Player of the Year award. Clark led the squad in almost every offensive category, batting .431 with 59 runs scored, 84 hits, 14 doubles, 19 home runs and 24 stolen bases. The shortstop also ranked first in the country with 75 RBI and was one of 10 finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award.

The team's lone senior, leftfielder Becky Simpson (Tumwater, Wash.) earned the Most Improved Player award for the second time in her career. Simpson batted .322 with 51 runs scored, 69 hits, 18 stolen bases and a school record seven triples, en route to all-conference and all-region honors.

Sophomore Tia Bollinger (Santa Ana, Calif.) and freshman Ashley Boek (Redding, Calif.) shared the Pitcher of the Year award, while freshman catcher Jessica Wilkinson (Seattle, Wash.) received the Allison Mick Most Inspirational Player award.

Washington Softball2002 Team Awards

Most Valuable Players - Kristen Rivera, Amy Hanson
Offensive Player of the Year - Jaime Clark
Defensive Players of the Year - Rita Roach, Kristen Rivera
Newcomer of the Year - Kristen Rivera
Pitchers of the Year - Tia Bollinger, Ashley Boek
Most Improved Player - Becky Simpson
Allison Mick Most Inspirational Player - Jessica Wilkinson

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder