Softball Holds 2002 Postseason Awards Banquet

June 4, 2002

STANFORD, Calif. - The Stanford softball team held its 2002 Postseason Awards Banquet last evening. Year-ending awards were distributed during the ceremony, which also honored the four Cardinal seniors- Sarah Beeson (Tucson, Ari.), Jessica Draemel (Omaha, Neb.), Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, Calif.) and Robin Walker (La Palma, Calif.).

'I'm very pleased with our season and look forward to getting back out on the field,' said head coach John Rittman. 'We'll start working toward next season and our goal of making the College World Series.'

The 2002 award-winners include the following:
Player of the Year: Tori Nyberg (Belmont, Calif.)
Cardinal Career Achievement Award: Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, Calif.)
Coaches Award: Kira Ching (San Lorenzo, Calif.)
Rookie of the Year: Leah Nelson (Oakland, Calif.)
Most Improved: Robin Walker (La Palma, Calif.) and Cassi Brangham (Clovis, Calif.)
Most Inspirational: Tori Nyberg (Belmont, Calif.)

In addition to the annual team awards, four statistical awards were given out to the following student-athletes:
Best Defensive Player: Jessica Allister (.994)
Highest Batting Average: Sarah Beeson (.376)
Lowest ERA: Tori Nyberg (1.51)
Most RBI: Kira Ching (46)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder