Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra Named ITA National Doubles Team of the Year

June 10, 2002

SKILLMAN, N.J. - Stanford's NCAA doubles championship team of Lauren Kalvaria (Indialantic, Fla.) and Gabriela Lastra (Reno, Nev.) has been named the 2002 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Doubles Team of the Year, the ITA announced today.

The senior duo closed out their Stanford careers by capturing the NCAA doubles title last month. They went 34-3 this season and also captured the title at the Omni Hotels National Indoor Championships in November. The Cardinal duo beat UCLA's Megan Bradley and Lauren Fisher 6-2, 6-3 in the May 25 NCAA doubles final (at Stanford) and closed out the season winning 21 of their last 22 matches. Kalvaria, who is from Indialantic, Fla., and Lastra, a native of Reno, Nev., finished the season at No. 1 in the Omni Hotels national doubles rankings.

Auburn's Andrew Colombo and Marc Kovacs claimed the title on the men's side.

The ITA National Doubles Team of the Year award goes annually to the team that has had the most outstanding year, as determined by the ITA. Both teams will be honored at the Tennis Week/ITA All-Star Award Ceremonies on August 23 in New York, along with the ITA National Players of the Year, the Arthur Ashe/ITA Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners (for Division I) and several of the top-ranked collegiate players from all ITA divisions in the Omni Hotels Collegiate Tennis Rankings.

Past ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year:
2002 - Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra, Stanford
2001 - Whitney Laiho and Jessica Lehnhoff, Florida
2000 - Claire Curran and Amy Jensen, California

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder