Harrington, Baysa Chosen Oregon's Pac-10 Medal Winners

June 12, 2002

EUGENE - Former University of Oregon quarterback Joey Harrington and women's soccer standout Chalise Baysa have been selected 2001-02 Pacific-10 Conference Medal winners as the school's top male and female student/athlete, according to league Commissioner Tom Hansen.

A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student/athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

Harrington, who was selected as the first Heisman Trophy finalist in school history, was voted the Pac-10's 2001 offensive player of the year in addition to earning first-team Verizon Academic All-America acclaim.

He guided the Ducks to an unprecedented 11-1 record and a season-ending No. 2 national ranking. He received an undergraduate degree in business, as well as a minor in political science following the 2001 fall term, and earned a grade-point average of 3.23.

The Portland native was the third pick in this year's NFL draft by the Detroit Lions.

Baysa is a three-time second-team all-conference honoree and helped rewrite the record books for a program in existence since 1996. She completed the 2001 season owning the school's single-season record for points (20) as well as career records in points (69) and goals scored (31).

The forward/midfielder will take part in this weekend's graduation ceremonies after earning a degree in exercise and movement science with a 3.21 GPA.

The four-year letterwinner from Oak Harbor, Wash., helped lead the program to its best record (8-8-2) since Oregon reinstated soccer as an intercollegiate sport in 1996.

The conference's 20 honorees represented 14 different sports.

All of this year's Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 men's basketball post-season tournament next March.

2002 Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners

School             Men                          WomenArizona            Brandon Nash, Football       Jennie Finch, SoftballArizona State      Brandon Strong, Track        Kelly McDonald, TrackCalifornia         Dennis Gates, Basketball     Anne Walker, GolfOregon             Joey Harrington, Football    Chalise Baysa, SoccerOregon State       Todd Deacon, Golf            Gina Schmidt, VolleyballStanford           Chris O'Riordan, Baseball    Ellen Estes, Water PoloUCLA               Bryan Green, Track           Stacey Nuveman, SoftballUSC                Andrew Park, Tennis          Aniko Pelle, Water PoloWashington         Kyle Benn, Football          Anna Mickelson, RowingWashington State   Lamont Thompson, Football    Erica Perkins, Tennis
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder