Angela Williams Wins Honda-Broderick Cup As Nation's Top College Female Athlete

June 17, 2002

Los Angeles - USC sprinter Angela Williams, the only athlete--male or female--ever to win four consecutive NCAA 100-meter dash championships, has been named winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup as the collegiate woman athlete of the year.

The announcement and presentation of the Honda-Broderick Cup, given since 1977 and selected by a vote involving the more than 900 NCAA-member schools, were made at the 26th annual Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year Dinner on Monday (June 17) in Dallas, Tex., site of the 2002 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Convention.

'Angela Williams is a coach's dream,' said USC coach Ron Allice. 'She has made her imprint at USC and in the sport of track and field.'

Williams was selected over 11 other nominees who had been chosen as athletes of the year in their respective sports. The 11 nominees were Bea Bielik of Wake Forest (Tennis), Sue Bird of Connecticut (Basketball), Tara Chaplin of Arizona (Cross Country), Natalie Coughlin of California (Swimming and Diving), Erin Elbe of Georgetown (Lacrosse), Jennie Finch of Arizona (Softball), Virada Nirapathpongporn of Duke (Golf), Andree Pickens of Alabama (Gymnastics), Logan Tom of Stanford (Volleyball), Aly Wagner of Santa Clara (Soccer) and Autumn Welsh of Maryland (Field Hockey).

Williams, a senior from Ontario, Calif., edged teammate Natasha Mayers by one one-hundredths of a second (11.29) at the NCAA outdoor championships two weeks ago to win her sport's glamour event for an unprecedented fourth time and help USC to a third-place finish among competing teams. In 2002, Williams also won the NCAA indoor title in the 60-meter dash (7.13) and was the Pac-10 champion in the 100 (11.42). Her time of 11.06 at the Mt. Sac Relays was the fastest time by a collegian this year and is currently the sixth-fastest 100-meter mark in the world. She was also selected as the national women's track and field athlete of the year by the U.S. Track Coaches Association.

Williams is the second Woman of Troy athlete to win the Honda-Broderick Cup, joining former women's basketball All-American Cheryl Miller, who was the co-winner in 1984. Julie Shea (1979) of North Carolina State, Jackie Joyner (1985) of UCLA, Vicki Huber (1989) of Villanova and Suzy Favor (1990) of Wisconsin are the only other track and field athletes to be so honored.

Williams on winning the Honda-Broderick Award:

'This award just inspired me to work that much harder. It's sort of like, my collegiate years are complete and this award just moves me on to the next level. Like, you've achieved such greatness in college now move on because we believe in you. It just sums it all up and it's one big cup.

'I was amazed (to have won). Just meeting all the women...everybody is just so inspirational. Just to sit with other people like me, it made me really proud. But, to look and see and their accomplishments and to hear them speak, it gave me a great respect for them. When they said my name, I thought, 'oh my gosh!'' I'm so proud of myself right now.

Carolyn Schlie Femovich, Honda exucutive board committee member, presents Angela Williams with the Broderick Cup at the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year dinner, Monday, June 17, 2002, in Dallas.

'It's truly a blessing and an honor to receive this award. I'm so shocked right now. I've been going up against so many great women. As I watched the video, I'm amazed at how well much women have achieved in sport and I appreciate the honor we've been given tonight.

'During my four years at the University of Southern California, I've matured greatly. I've been through many obstacles, good and bad, but I've learned a lot. I. can say I'm now a strong woman and as I go on to compete at the next level as a professional track & field athlete, I will strive to be the best in all that I do and to motivate fans and my family and all the youths that watch me. I just want to use my gift to the best of my ability to change the lives of others. I'm committed, I'm determined and I'll continue to be that way.'

Honda-Broderick Cup WinnersAngela Williams, 2001-02, University of Southern CaliforniaJackie Stiles, 2000-01, Southwest Missouri State, BasketballCristina Teuscher, 1999-00, Columbia University, Swimming & DivingMisty May, 1998-99, Long Beach State University, VolleyballChamique Holdsclaw, 1997-98, University of Tennessee, BasketballCindy Daws, 1996-97, University of Notre Dame, SoccerJennifer Rizzotti, 1995-96, University of Connecticut, BasketballRebecca Lobo, 1994-94, University of Connecticut, BasketballMia Hamm, 1993-94, University of North Carolina, SoccerLisa Fernandez, 1992-93, University of California, Los Angeles, SoftballMissy Marlowe, 1991-92, University of Utah, GymnasticsDawn Staley, 1990-91, University of Virginia, BasketballSuzy Favor, 1989-90, University of Wisconsin, Track & FieldVicki Huber, 1988-89, Villanova University, Track & FieldTeresa Weatherspoon, 1987-88, Louisiana Tech University, BasketballMary T. Meagher, 1986-87, University of California, Berkeley, Swimming & DivingKamie Ethridge, 1985-86, University of Texas, BasketballJackie Joyner, 1984-85, University of California, Los Angeles, Track & FieldTracy Caulkins, 1983-84, University of Florida, Swimming & DivingCheryl Miller, 1983-84, University of Southern California, BasketballDeitre Collins, 1982-83, University of Hawaii, VolleyballTracy Caulkins, 1981-82, University of Florida, Swimming & DivingJill Sterkel ,1980-81, University of Texas, Swimming & DivingJulie Shea, 1979-80, North Carolina State University, Track & FieldNancy Lieberman, 1978-79, Old Dominion University, BasketballAnn Meyers, 1977-78, University of California, Los Angeles, BasketballLucy Harris, 1976-77, Delta State University, Basketball

Angela Williams' Resume* Unprecedented Four NCAA 100m Titles (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002)* 2002 NCAA Indoor 60m Champion* 2001-2002 Honda-Broderick Cup Award Winner as College Woman Athlete of the Year* 2002 U.S. Track Coaches Association Athlete of the Year* 2001 World Indoor 60m Silver Medalist* 2001 World Outdoor 100m Semifinalist* Eight-Time All-American* Two-Time Pac-10 100m Champion* USC 100m Record Holder (11.04)* Collegiate Record Holder, 60m Indoor Dash (7.09)* American Junior 100m Record Holder (11.04)* American Prep 100m Record holder (11.11)* Led USC to its first NCAA women's team title in 2001

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder