Futures Tournament Underway at Hellman Tennis Courts

June 19, 2002

BERKELEY - The Berkeley Futures Tennis Tournament got underway Tuesday morning with top-seeded Peter Clarke, ranked No. 291 in the world, defeating James Sekulov of Australia, 7-5, 7-5.

Clarke let a 5-0 first set lead slip away but held on for the 7-5, 7-5 win. However, the tournament's No. 2 seed, Daniel Willman, retired during his match with Ireland's John Doran. Doran led 6-3, 1-1, when Willman pulled out. Willman was planning on teaming up with El Cerrito's Chris Magyary in doubles, but due to injury the duo had to withdraw.

Wednesday's highlight match will be John Paul Fruttero of Cal versus fourth-seeded Alun Jones in the last match of the day on Court 1. Fruttero, who reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament last month, captured last week's Futures title in Sunnyvale. Also watch for Magyary in singles as he takes on qualifier Huntley Montgomery.

All matches are being held at the Hellman Tennis Courts on the Cal campus and admission is free to the public. The tournament runs through Sunday, June 23.

Schedule of Matches for Wednesday, June 19

Court 1
10 a.m. - Stephen Nugent vs. Luke Shields
Followed by Ryan Sachire vs. Sean Cooper
1 p.m. -- Huntley Montgomery vs. Chris Magyary
Followed by Alun Jones vs. John Paul Fruttero

Court 3
10 a.m. -- Travis Rettenmaier vs. Luke Bourgeois
Followed by Lazar Magdincev vs. Brian Wilson
1 p.m. -- Bobby Reynolds vs. W.P. Meyer
Followed by Tad Berkowitz/Lester Cook vs. John Doran/Travis Rettenmaier

Court 5
10 a.m. -- Rajeev Ram vs. Michihisa Onoda
Followed by Pramod Dabir vs. Eric Nunez
1 p.m. -- Whi Kim vs. Jeff Williams
Followed by Amer Delic vs. Nick Rainey

First Round Results from Tuesday, June 18
(1) Peter Clarke (IRL) d. James Sekulov (AUS), 7-5, 7-5
K.C. Corkery (Manhattan Beach, CA) d. Lester Cook (Sherman Oaks, CA), 7-6, 3-6, 6-4
Zack Fleishman (Playa del Rey, CA) d. Tripp Phillips (Charlotte, NC), 2-6, 6-1, 6-1
(6)Dirk Stegmann (RSA) d. Mashiska Washington (Delray Beach, FL), 6-4, 6-4
John Doran (IRL) d. (2) Daniel Willman (NZL), 6-3, 1-1 ret.

(1) Willem-Petrus Meyer/Dirk Stegmann (RSA) d. Michael Calkins/Amer Delic (USA), 6-3, 7-6
(4) Luke Bourgeois/Alun Jones (AUS) d. K.C. Corkery/Scott Lipsky (USA), 6-2, 6-4
Lazar Magdincev/Eric Nunez (MKD/USA) d. Arthur Petouchkov/Dmitry Tursunov (RUS), 7-6, 7-5
Sean Cooper/Stephen Nugent (IRL) d. Peter Clarke/James Sekulov (IRL/AUS), 1-3 ret.
Nick Rainey/Brian Wilson (USA) d. (3) Huntley Montgomery/Tripp Phillips (USA), 6-2, 5-7, 6-3
Bobby Reynolds/Nathan Zeder (USA) d. John Paul Fruttero/Anthony Ross (USA/AUS), 6-4, 6-1
(2) Zack Fleishman/Jeff Williams (USA) d. Ogidi Obi/Mashiska Washington (USA), 6-2, 6-2

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder