Crew Athletes Honored by the Pac-10 Conference

June 20, 2002

Corvallis, Ore. - Eleven Oregon State University student-athletes in the sports of men's and women's crew have been selected to the Pacific-10 Conference's All-Academic First team, it was announced Thursday by the Conference. Nine more athletes were selected to the honorable mention squad.

To be included on the team the student-athlete must carry a minimum of a 3.00 cumulative GPA and be either a starter or significant substitute.

Senior Lauren Sommers of Corvallis and junior Lynn Simmons of Bly headline the team, both carrying over a 3.90 GPA. The rest of the OSU first team contingent includes seniors Joy Jordan of Alsea, Karen Hopfer of Albany, Emmy Gardner of Springfield, Kara Pattison of Tualatin, Bryan Reiman of Albany, and Mark Squire of Cove. In addition to Simmons, juniors Kathleen Freeborn of Rickreall, Daniel Hough of Corvallis, and Steven Hyde of Sisters were honored.

The honorable mention team includes Katie Beachwood (Portland), Leah Schauermann (Astoria), Katie Sciarrino (Halfway), Kimberly Texeira (Gresham), Laurie Williams (West Linn), Lyndsay Wrightson (West Vancouver, B.C.), Ryan Dillon (Tidewater), Nathan Pakish (Salinas, CA), and Victor Follon (Portland).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network