Rowers Earn Pac-10 Academic Honors

June 20, 2002

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Ten student-athletes on the Washington rowing team were named to the Pacific-10 Conference all-Academic Team for their achievements in the classroom, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced. To be eligible for selection to the academic teams, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute.

Five women from Washington's NCAA champion varsity eight were selected to the team; stroke Lauren Estevenin (3.50, art), four-seat Adrienne Hunter (3.37, international business administration), five seat Heidi Hurn (3.45, nursing), six seat Anna Mickelson (3.63, communications) and two seat Kara Nykreim (3.34, industrial design).

On the men's side, the varsity eight's seven seat, Marko Petrovic (3.67, business), was honored along with junior varsity teammates Andy Derrick (31.5, premajor), five seat, bow seat Ian Harrison (3.33, premajor), seven seat Charles Minett (3.75, law, societies and justice) and three seat Brendan Patterson (3.17, ecology, evolution and conservation biology).

It is the third consecutive year Mickelson has been named to the all-conference first team, while Estevenin, Hunter, Minett and Patterson are all second time honorees on the prestigious team.

In addition, 11 other Huskies were recognized on the academic honorable mention team. They are: John Lorton,Erin Curry, Jessica Harm, Anne Hessburg, Lisa Krikava, Nicole Mazikowski, Shannon Oates, Margherita Pollottino, Mary Reeves, Jenni Vesnaver, Mary Whipple.

Washington is coming off a season in which it captured national championships in the women's varsity and junior varsity eight and the men's freshman eight. The men's varsity and junior varsity eights added bronze medals to the collection as well.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder