2001-02 Stanford Athletic Board Award Winners Announced

June 25, 2002

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford Athletic Board honored 35 of the university's top student-athletes at its annual awards luncheon on Thursday afternnon at Burnham Pavilion. Stanford University president John Hennessey, along with the entire Stanford Athletic Board, were in attendance to honor the outstanding accomplishments of the award winners.

The event was highlighted by Markus Rogan (men's swimming) and Ellen Estes (women's water polo) receiving the board's highest honor - The Al Masters Award - for attaining the highest standards of athletic performance, leadership and academic achievement.

Rogan, who just completed his sophomore season, is ranked No. 2 in the world in the 200 backstroke. He was crowned 2002 NCAA Champion in both the 200 individual medley and 200 backstroke, and was a silver medalist at the 2001 World Championships in the 200 backstroke.

The Block 'S' Outstanding Male Junior Award went to Randall Bal (swimming), Nick Ellis (water polo) and Jeremy Guthrie (baseball). Bal, who picked up seven All-America honors in 2002, won his third consecutive Pac-10 title in the 100 backstroke this season. He was also a member of Stanford's 200 freestyle relay team that broke the American record at NCAAs.

The Block 'S' Outstanding Male Sophomore Award went to Peter Marshall (swimming), Teyo Johnson (basketball/football) and Donald Sage (cross country/track and field). Marshall, who also picked up seven All-America honors at NCAAs this year, won the NCAA title in the 100 backstroke in 2002 and was a member of three NCAA Champion relay teams (200 free relay, 200 medley relay, 400 medley relay).

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder